Facetime: iPad to iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jedi5, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. Jedi5 macrumors 6502

    Jedi5

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    North Burbs, IL
    #1
    I know this possible because I've read about it.
    I can't get mine to work though.

    I can FT iPad to iPhone no problem.

    How do i FT iPad to iPad?

    When I FT iPad to iPhone, my iPhone contact has a blue camera in their contact info.
    When I try to FT iPad to iPad, there is no blue camera in the contact info.

    I know the contact information is correct.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Papanate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Probably nothing - does the other person have the first iPad without a camera? That would kind of explain a lot.
     
  3. DESNOS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #3
    You need to have one Apple ID associated with each device, or a phone number in the case of the iPhone. That's all you should need to get it to work. Make sure it's a different ID for each.
     
  4. Jedi5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Jedi5

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    North Burbs, IL
    #4
    iPad 2 to iPad 2.

    my ipad has apple their ipad has apple id.

    should there be a camera icon in their contact info though?
     
  5. DESNOS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    If I recall correctly, it only puts the camera there after a successful contact attempt. You need to make sure the info you have in your contacts is the same info they associated with their iPad.
     
  6. Jedi5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Jedi5

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    North Burbs, IL
    #6
    yeah their contact info is correct.
    i'll try again later i guess.

    thanks
     
  7. PracticalMac macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    It uses the EMAIL address of the Apple ID.

    Both use same Apple ID?
     
  8. Jedi5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Jedi5

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    North Burbs, IL
    #8
    finally got it working.
    small glitch or hiccup maybe?
    it's working though.

    thanks everyone.
     
  9. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #9
    Are you both connected to WiFi? It works best that way :p
     
  10. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #10
    I ONLY works that way!
     
  11. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #11
    "It" I know, that is what the :p was for.
     

Share This Page