FaceTime may be coming to 3G networks?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by chevy57, May 19, 2012.

  1. chevy57 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #1
    Apple may be preparing to enable its FaceTime video-chat service to be used over 3G networks. The company has yet to confirm such plans, however Romanian Apple website iDevice has reportedly observed new warnings in iOS 5.1.1 that appear to be geared for FaceTime calls placed over 3G networks rather than Wi-Fi.

    [​IMG]

    http://forums.appleinsider.com/t/150175/ios-warning-messages-hint-at-3g-support-for-apples-facetime

    I think that Facetime video chat service may be used over 4G (LTE) networks on iPhone 5???
     
  2. raychelabcdefg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    #2
    I hope it won't be limited to the iPhone 5. I've been dying for this option since I got my 4S. I don't like having to be connected to wifi just to use FaceTime, not always convenient!
     
  3. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #3
    I really hope it comes for all cell connections, considering apple and the carriers already allow Skype, Tango, and others to use cell data.

    If one carrier blocks FaceTime, but another one allows it, I will switch my service to that one.
     
  4. macbwizard macrumors 6502

    macbwizard

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    #4
    Wow this is super cool. I'm afraid it might be a carrier-limited feature though.
     
  5. Steve.P.JobsFan macrumors 6502a

    Steve.P.JobsFan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #5
    I personally think that FaceTime will come to cellular networks, especially LTE. Considering the fact the new iPad has LTE, and it'd be insane for Apple to NOT put LTE in the new iPhone. However, I don't see how 3G can have the bandwidth for FaceTime, as it's not that fast, and has a HORRIBLE ping. I may be wrong, but I've never had more than 0.9 MBP/s down, 0.3 MBP/s up, and a 150-800ms ping on Verizon's 3G. That was even in a huge metropolitan area (Detroit), where there were at least 30 towers nearby, and all 5 bars of service!
     
  6. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    One thing that needs to happen before FaceTime can be used without the need of WiFi is for carriers to lower their crazy data plan rates.
     
  7. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
  8. paddude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #8
    Apple may be trying, but AT&T would never give the OK.

    ----------

    It isn't a perfect fix though, and carriages can catch on if you are doing it and fine you.
     
  9. twigman08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #9
    Im jailbroken and I use FaceTime over 3G. On AT&T 3G service it works perfectly. Just as good as WiFi.
    I get right at 6 Mb/s at 100 ping pretty consistent. Which is why I could never switch carriers. AT&T is dominant here in my city in Texas. BTW, I've yet to be throttled by AT&T and I ALWAYS use 3G for everything. It's a tad bit faster than my home network. I only get 3Mb/s download speed on my home wifi. Ping is a tad bit lower but can't a difference using FaceTime.

    Too bad Sprint or Verizons 3G speeds are too slow more than likely.
     
  10. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    Similar news have come w/ every new update of the OS and at the end 3G FaceTime gets removed from the GM. The problem here is not apple but the carriers.
     
  11. gr8whtd0pe macrumors 6502a

    gr8whtd0pe

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Belle, WV
    #11
    When it's released, sure.
     
  12. blackhand1001 macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #12
    Why does android have no problem doing skype, google talk, and google+ over 3g.
     
  13. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    FaceTime uses about 3MB (megabytes) per minute. 3 megabytes is 24 megabits.

    That suggests that we need 0.4 megabits per second for FaceTime to function.

    3G can easily handle that.

    They could also make it so that quality is temporarily reduced when the network can't cope (not sure, but they might do this already - I don't know, I never use FaceTime).

    Bandwidth isn't the issue, it's that Apple restricts iOS far more than Google restricts Android (i.e. not at all).
     
  14. CC424 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #14
    FaceTime over 3G has been around for quite some time now. It's called My3G! I know that this is a feature that is only offered on jailbroken phones but it is still available. The real concern would be data consumption.

    So really, this is not something new for the iPhone. For those who are afraid that the upgrade will only be for the iPhone 5, you always have Tango.
     
  15. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #15
    well, the iPhone doesn't have problems doing Skype calls on 3G either (don't know about the other two G services, because I don't use them)... Apple makes the hardware & software so they have to talk directly w/ carriers while only Android hardware makes talk to carriers and they are not the ones making the software and every single android differs on what is blocked. Like for example the HTC One X where there is unremovable AT&T bloatware and the bootloader is locked.
     
  16. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #16
    If FaceTime worked over just 3G, people would complain MORE than now. "wahh wahh, I didn't know it would use my data, wahh wahh". Think about it, while the vast majority on this website know that it would eat data, there are a TON of oblivious people out there who would kick up a stink about going over their data like it's everyone's fault but their own.

    Most unlimited data plans are going away, in north america at least. We don't even have any carriers in Canada that offer unlimited data.
     
  17. Steve.P.JobsFan macrumors 6502a

    Steve.P.JobsFan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #17

    I've tried My3G on a jailbroken iPhone 4 with iOS 5. I tried it while I was taking a day trip to another metropolitan area (Detroit), with all 5 bars of service. It was horrible quality (you could see the pixels), stuttering, not transmitting audio, and after about two minutes: the call dropped.

    3G can totally handle FaceTime.
     
  18. CC424 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #18
    I have no problem using it at all...of course on wifi the video feed is better but it still works.

    In fact my wife uses it while she is out and about in the States to call me in India and it works.

    BTW she has an iPhone 4.
     
  19. PatrickW98 macrumors 6502

    PatrickW98

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    Subrubs of Chicago, IL
    #19
    Yay! Now even a quicker way to drain the iPhone 4S's battery!!!!
     
  20. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #20
    I'm running stock 5.1 on my new 4S, but when I had my 4 it was jailbroken on 4.something and I installed 3GUnrestrictor from Cydia.

    Worked perfectly for me (on 3 here in the UK).

    No dropped calls or pixels, but YMMV.

    It's one of the things I'll be installing from Cydia when the 5.1.1 Untethered Jailbreak arrives in a few days (along with SB Settings & 5 Icon Dock).
     
  21. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #21
    Yes, what a waste running the battery down while using your iPhone. I suggest NOT using your iPhone at all and then you will get maximum battery life.:D
     
  22. Oz. macrumors regular

    Oz.

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #22
    you got that right :D
     
  23. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #23
    I've been doing Facetime calls over 3G for some time and it's not all as good as it's hyped up to be. Your battery will be taking a massive hit and within minutes the cellular antenna side of the phone will heat up to the point where it's extremely uncomfortable to hold and your hand sweats. Unless that small claim of issues is addressed it will remain a pipe dream for me.
     
  24. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #24
    Good news for PatrickW98. Just check the Apple site and it says FaceTime has no effect on battery life. Now you can use your iPhone.:D

    [​IMG]
     
  25. twigman08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #25
    I again just tried FaceTime over 3G yesterday. At first it wasn't working properly anymore as I installed a jailbreak tweak that I don't think it liked (didn't even work over Wifi). As soon as I uninstalled that tweak it worked great. Every now and then it's skip a frame or two but worked perfectly. But all apple would have to do is provide a little note/warning that FaceTime will use data (for the people that would never know it, that aren't on this site) when you enable FaceTime over 3G or something.
     

Share This Page