FaceTime Over 3G in iOS 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AppleBoyFreak, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. AppleBoyFreak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    Hello, I recently found an article about how we may see FaceTime over 3G in iOS 5. There is also a picture detailing it. Here is the article: http://9to5mac.com/2011/06/08/facetime-looks-to-go-3g-in-ios-5-up-to-carriers-to-enable/


    You can remake the picture that is shown by turning off WiFi, turn on Airplane Mode and then go to FaceTime settings and that will pop-up. I hope you found this interesting to read and share your ideas about this and why FaceTime was disabled in beta 2. Personally I think this is why FaceTime was disabled in beta 2.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #2
    I find this curious as well. I would definitely use this if it was included in ios5. Wifi is just too constricting. My gf could be on her laptop while I'm out and about.

    But then again, we can do that now with skype... but I hate needing to be logged in to skype. It's such a battery hog.
     
  3. AppleBoyFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    Yeah, I know what you mean. I currently use tango so I can call people on android, but it doesn't, "just work." hopefully we'll see in iOS 5 beta 3. :)
     
  4. MisterDisney macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    FaceTime via 3G is the only thing I really miss about not being jailbroken anymore.
     
  5. AppleBoyFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Any other ideas or thoughts? I guess we'll find out tomorrow because that's when iOS 5 beta 3 is suppose to be released.
     
  6. openendstraight macrumors regular

    openendstraight

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    La Vegas
    #6
    Apple is not the one who prevents FaceTime over 3G. It is the carriers that don't want it allowed. I think we will see FaceTime over 3G once the carriers get enough people off of unlimited data.
     
  7. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #7
    I was just about to mention this. We jailbroke and were able to use 3G FaceTime so it's definitely not the lack of ability for Apple to implement it. The carriers got pissy and weren't cool with it. iOS5 won't guarantee anything, we have to see what the carriers say.
     
  8. Scott90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    And so Apple disabled that functionality, so at the end of the day it was Apple who prevented us from using FaceTime over 3G. If Apple now made deals with carriers, I can see them enabling the feature in iOS 5.

    Don't get me wrong, Apple is not "at fault" here, but whether FaceTime over 3G is possible is ultimately in their hands.
     
  9. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #9
    Or us, if we jailbreak. :D
     
  10. openendstraight macrumors regular

    openendstraight

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    La Vegas
    #10
    I didn't say Apple isn't in control of the feature, just that they don't care if you can or can't. The carries told they not to make it possible, so don't blame Apple, blame your carrier.
     
  11. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #11
    I don't understand why they allow skype, fring, and tango to video chat over 3g but not facetime. Seems like apple has a lawsuit on their hands.
     
  12. mrockm01 macrumors regular

    mrockm01

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #12
    It is not built in so it is harder to get it to work. Plus most of the iPhone community doesn't know that, while they know about FaceTime
     
  13. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    I think the difference now is that Apple has more control over the networks whereas before the networks controlled them. Apple can do pretty much whatever they want now.
     
  14. canvasback13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #14
    i facetime over 3g almost daily in my office. My 2 1/2 year son facetimes me every morning. (with his mothers help) I can't belive how well it works, I can't tell the difference between 3G and wifi. It was one of the things that got me to jailbreak.
     
  15. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #15
    Are you kidding me? So you think Apple should be sued for not allowing YOU to FT over 3G? Really? Please tell me what else YOU think you're entitled to?

    Some people. :rolleyes:
     
  16. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #16
    No, I think Apple should sue AT&T for allowing similar services over 3G while not allowing facetime. Learn to read.
     
  17. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    i can't believe someone negged you for this comment.

    i completely agree, and this is what's wrong with America. suing everyone and everything for anything. smh
     
  18. AppleBoyFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    Well, I haven't updated to iOS 5 b3 so is FaceTime back, and is it over 3G?
     
  19. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #19
    i haven't installed the beta cause i'm going to be using the gevey sim while in Europe..

    once i get back, i'll probably install it though.
     
  20. JetBlack7 macrumors 68020

    JetBlack7

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
  21. French macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #21
    I thought I had read somewhere that it is possible to Facetime over 3G on AT&T but that Verizon had not yet agreed.
     
  22. nk416 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    #22
    WRONG!

    I am running IOS Beta 3 and it is NOT available over 3G.
     
  23. Centient macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #23
    I read the same thing about a month ago. Of course nothing is set in stone until iOS5 actually gets released.
     

Share This Page