Facetime WTF!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Streamer, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Streamer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #1
    So, we get two 16GB i4's yesterday. Set them up and get them all activated.

    My i4 finally showed Facetime activated late last night. My Wife's finally showed activated this morning. We try a call, fails. Mine still shows activated.

    Head off to work, noticed I had no 3G for 10 miles. Rebooted the phone, grabbed 3G. My facetime has now gone back to "waiting for activation"!!!

    On WifI at work, but still no activation !
     
  2. NJMetsHero macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
  3. LordOBoogie macrumors 6502a

    LordOBoogie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
  4. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #4
    that is correct
     
  5. Streamer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #5
    We were last night, we are right now :(

    Right now we can't even get texting to work, so I have a suspicion we're not fully activated!
     
  6. DynaFXD macrumors 6502a

    DynaFXD

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    +1

    2-16 GB iP4's, activated, can make calls, both attached to wifi. I get the "Facetime" option in my dial screen, my wife does not. In her settings her Facetime says "Waiting for activation," mine does not.

    I read in another thread that it has to do with MMS not being transferred from the old phone account to the new one (Facetime requires that for something or other.) I tried to call tech support. Fat chance getting through today, it seems :(
     
  7. danmanstx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Lexington, Ky
    #7
    try going into Settings -> General -> Reset (at the very bottom) and then resetting the network Settings. the phone should reboot and it should work now. Read this in another thread and it worked for me!
     
  8. vabunuc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    #8
    did you register them both with itunes on the computer?
     
  9. Streamer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #9
    Yup. Both phones activated last night with AT&T, both synced with iTunes last night (seperate Macs). My Facetime did activate then this morning it went to "waiting for activation".

    I'll have to call AT&T re. the texting at some point but can't be bothered to sit on hold for some time...
     
  10. Aadhil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Maybe you have to turn Facetime on?

    Settings->Phone->Facetime: turn switch to ON.
     
  11. Streamer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #11
    That was on. That was too obvious. :)

    Turned out it was the Caller ID was set to be hidden. I did a restore of my settings from my 3G and wonder if that got corrupted/changed then. My 3G shows caller ID.

    Now I set to i4 to show ID and voila!
     
  12. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #12
    So change your thread title to "Caller ID WTF!"

    Or better yet, "Growing pains, maybe I shouldn't overreact."
     

Share This Page