Factory Restore Jailbroken (not unlocked) 1.1.2 iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by d-rock22, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. d-rock22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #1
    I have searched the forums and I have not found my answer...

    I have jailbroken my phone (but not unlocked it). And with 1.1.3 coming soon, I want to fully restore my phone to factory settings before I update so it does not mess up my phone. How would i go about doing this? Do I just plug it in and hit restore in itunes, or do I turn the phone into restore mode, then hit restore in itunes, or do I have to download something in installer.app?

    All I want to do is make sure it goes completely back to stock as if I just bought the phone so 1.1.3 doesnt screw it up.

    Thanks!
     
  2. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #2
    Just a question of curiosity... Why go through all of that to get 1.1.3 right away, if it is even an imminent release? Historically it hasn't taken long at all to develop an upgrade path for jailbroken phones. We can never be fully sure that a new firmware will be breakable at all even though the wonder-hackers have done a great job so far. Why risk that you can't break out of a firmware update and just wait to see what the hacking community comes up with? If they don't, just roll yourself backwards with a restore and let the 1.1.3 goodness come on in.

    Is there something in 1.1.3 that you just can't live without for several days to see if there's progress with a break?
     
  3. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #3
    Well ya did not search well! :) hehe

    TONS of threads on this, but in a nut shell - plug in and hit restore.

    Best to sync first, then you can do a "restore from backup" after the restore to get all the info back on.

    People who unlocked are the ones with issues, but just jail-breaking will not result in a toasted phone.
     
  4. d-rock22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #4
    do I need to go into restore mode fist on the phone, then plug in n hit restore, or just plug in n hit restore? and how do I do a restore from. Backup?

    Sorry so many questions, I'm very new at this.

    Thanks for all the help!!!
     
  5. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #5
    Plug it in, then sync is you want to restore your personal data (minus music, photos, etc.) So make sure if there are photos you want on the phone, get em off.

    Then make sure the backup is save, check the preferences in iTunes. It will have a data and time of the last backup in the list, may only be one listed anyway.

    Then click restore.

    After the restore, it will re-connect and ask if you want to setup as new phone or restore from a prior backup.

    Easy!
     

Share This Page