Factory Unlocked iPhone 3gs

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dittobuff, Jan 6, 2010.

1. dittobuff macrumors newbie

hi there... this is my first time to post here... just have a question... i recently bought a factory unlocked iPhone 3gs and was wondering if AT&T 3g network will work if i have a data plan from AT&T?... i am currently with T-Mobile and i know that Tmobile uses a different frequency than AT&T and that i won't have a 3g capability on the iPhone... just want to finish my contract with TMobile and will switch to AT&T soon... thank you so much for your responses in advance....=)

2. thelatinist macrumors 603

thelatinist

Yes. If you get service with AT&T, your phone will have 3G where available.

3. golgdkc macrumors newbie

Factory Unlocked 3GS Iphone

I've just bought a factory unlocked 3GS and I intend to continue to use my T-mobile account. Is this an issue? My understanding is that T-Mobile have 3G service.

4. patrickdunn macrumors 6502a

patrickdunn

T-Mobile 3G bands are different than AT&T's. You will be able to get data, but only EDGE speeds.

5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Unless T-Mobile USA uses unique bands I don't think that will be a problem: the iPhones sold in the US are physically the same as those sold in Europe and the ones we get here will work on pretty much any networks 3G covering a few different bands...

6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

What he said. No iPhone 3G service on the iPhone with tmobile.

7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

I've just done a very quick Google and it looks like the other posters are better informed that me: T-Mobile USA are using the 1700 band which appears to be unique :(

8. golgdkc macrumors newbie

I just looked T-mobile site and.....