FAFSA and Netflix Not Working in Lion

CPGuru

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2007
16
0
Hello all,

After a week of playing around on Lion, all was fine. But when I had to log on to FAFSA, I was told that the web browser I'm using is not compatible. I've reinstalled Safari, Firefox, Chrome, and Opera and none of the browsers worked (used to be that all browsers were compatible with FAFSA when I was on Snow Leopard).

Also, the video plug-in for Netflix is missing when I try to play movies on my laptop (not really a major concern because I use a PS3 to stream Netflix). I tried reinstalling Silverlight but still not had any luck.

If you guys have any ideas, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you in advance.
 

jon.peters

macrumors newbie
Jul 26, 2011
1
0
Incompatible Browser

I'm having the same issue after upgrading to OSX Lion. Hopefully FAFSA gets this worked out before the semester starts lol
 

Fenderman85

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2011
2
0
Not Lion

I haven't updated to Lion yet, due to all the negative reviews (public and personal). I was on the FAFSA site a few days ago and saved my progress, went back to it yesterday and received the error page. I'm still running snow leopard and safari 5.x. I downloaded Firefox and opera and still getting same error page with every browser. Any ideas?
 

IzzyJG99

macrumors 6502
Oct 26, 2007
336
6
NetFlix works for me, but not entirely. Certain things show up at a very low, block resolution as if my internet speed was crap. Which I know it's not. Others show up fine and in normal. Then others will play for 3-5 seconds and then I get old fashioned snow. I reported it to NetFlix over a week ago and they've yet to fix it. Hopefully a Silverlight update will fix this.
 

epmacman

macrumors newbie
Aug 1, 2011
2
0
it looks like the issue persists. I tried with chrome, opera, firefox and safari. You might be able to change the user agent in safari with the debug or developer version.
 

Aldaris

macrumors 68000
Sep 7, 2004
1,762
1,171
Salt Lake
It seems that FAFSA.GOV isn't recognizing the OS it gives '(unknown)' variables for OS and Browser versions...

From FAFSA;

[Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_7) AppleWebKit/534.48.3 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Safari/534.48.3]
[BrowserDetectService:OS[UNKNOWN] browser[SAFARI] browser version[UNKNOWN] AppName[FAFSA1112] detection status [BLOCKED]]
 

nameaneh

macrumors newbie
Aug 2, 2011
6
0
Utah
Workaround Solution

Just ran into the same problem, and found a little workaround. Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > Click 'Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar' After you do that, click on the Develop button > User Agent > I chose Opera 11.11 for Windows. After that, works fine. You have to reload it a few times and make sure it's not on auto detect.
 

afireintonto

macrumors 6502a
Jul 22, 2008
745
0
Portland
netflix is working fine for me....
i hate filling out damn FAFSA! i make my parents do it. they are windoze people, so i wouldn't know.
 

Aldaris

macrumors 68000
Sep 7, 2004
1,762
1,171
Salt Lake
Just ran into the same problem, and found a little workaround. Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > Click 'Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar' After you do that, click on the Develop button > User Agent > I chose Opera 11.11 for Windows. After that, works fine. You have to reload it a few times and make sure it's not on auto detect.
Genius!

Worth noting that safari 5.0.6 also works!
 

swimandgsmom

macrumors newbie
Dec 3, 2011
1
0
Thank you!

Thank you for the info! You guys rock.
I've been trying to access the FAFSA site to get my son's application going and kept running into a brick wall. I now have every browser software in my application folder when I should have started here and found the run around.
As if worrying about how to pay for college isn't stressful enough.. the FAFSA site offers no technical support!
Again... THANK YOU!
 

MsBritWilliams

macrumors newbie
Jan 2, 2012
1
0
Helpppp fasfa not working

I tried the little go around thing that was suggested earlier but that didn't work because it said "automatically chosen" and didn't even give me the option of selected a different option.

What should I do?
 

jocelynp

macrumors newbie
Jan 5, 2012
1
0
Just spoke to FAFSA on chatline

FAFSA is not "yet" compatible with Lion. They "are working on it."

Have to use a different computer. :)

I tried switching to Opera as someone advised, but still received an error, although I was able to load the FAFSA form.

Not going to risk it myself!

BTW I have not ever had a problem with Netlfix and Lion. It has always worked for me.

Hope this info helps??
 

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
3,612
73
Detroit
FAFSA is not "yet" compatible with Lion. They "are working on it."

Have to use a different computer. :)

I tried switching to Opera as someone advised, but still received an error, although I was able to load the FAFSA form.

Not going to risk it myself!

BTW I have not ever had a problem with Netlfix and Lion. It has always worked for me.

Hope this info helps??
On August 7, 2011, in this thread, a user pointed out there was a setting in Opera that caused the browser to report to the FAFSA site that it was Opera on Windows and after several browser reloads FAFSA was working fine. Are you saying that you tried that workaround (in its entirety) and it still did not work?

Another workaround is to use Safari in "user agent mode" and is detailed in this answered question on discussions.apple.com.
 

subAlpine

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2012
1
0
Just ran into the same problem, and found a little workaround. Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > Click 'Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar' After you do that, click on the Develop button > User Agent > I chose Opera 11.11 for Windows. After that, works fine. You have to reload it a few times and make sure it's not on auto detect.
This worked perfectly! I have spent days trying to get around the FASFA browser problem (using Lion). Thank you for this.
 

macster84

macrumors member
Feb 21, 2009
30
0
FAFSA with Safari.....try iPad!

FAFSA is not "yet" compatible with Lion. They "are working on it."

Have to use a different computer. :)

I tried switching to Opera as someone advised, but still received an error, although I was able to load the FAFSA form.
And another option that surprisingly seems to work: Safari on iPad! And iPhone 4!
 

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
19,239
4
i had to boot into windows to get the site to work for me.

i didn't try Opera though, i'll have to download it and keep it around for situations like these.
 

mhitt

macrumors newbie
Nov 6, 2010
1
0
FAFSA site works on 10.6.7

I echo your FAFSA frustration. I couldn't access the FAFSA site using Safari, Firefox, Opera, Opera Next, iCab or Chrome using OSX 10.7.2. After trying for a couple of hours I ended up paying $99 to a commercial site to file it over the phone. That didn't end up being a good solution because FAFSA then sent the commercially prepared form to me to sign. Signing electronically or printing means I have to be able to log in to the FAFSA site, which, of course, I've already learned that I can't do. My solution was to fire up my old MacBook Pro with OSX 10.6.7. I was able to use Safari, log in, sign and be done in 2 minutes. I've had the same experience trying to print labels from the US Postal Service site. Apparently Uncle Sam like Leopards but not Lions.:eek:
 

CityGirl1

macrumors newbie
Jan 31, 2012
1
0
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:) That was so quick and easy, why didn't FAFSA tell us that?!?!?!


Just ran into the same problem, and found a little workaround. Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > Click 'Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar' After you do that, click on the Develop button > User Agent > I chose Opera 11.11 for Windows. After that, works fine. You have to reload it a few times and make sure it's not on auto detect.
 

BranigansLaw

macrumors newbie
Aug 1, 2012
1
0
if using mountain lion

You may have the same problem but if you go to Safari preferences/advanced/click show develop menu in menu bar/go to develop/user agent and switch to Safari 6.0 when viewing the site. you can switch back when done.
 

bordermaster

macrumors newbie
Aug 4, 2012
1
0
Thanks!

Just ran into the same problem, and found a little workaround. Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > Click 'Show Develop Menu in Menu Bar' After you do that, click on the Develop button > User Agent > I chose Opera 11.11 for Windows. After that, works fine. You have to reload it a few times and make sure it's not on auto detect.
Amazing how simple that was, I had tried everything and nothin worked but this was just genius!!
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.