Faking out the Leopard installer

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Supreme User, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. Supreme User macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #1
    I tried the"Faking Out the Leopard Installer with Open Firmware" http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html and after all of the time waiting for my Power Mac to load the installer it decided to tell me I dont have enough RAM. Is there anything I can do to make the installer think I have more Ram than I really do just like how you make it think your processor is better?
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    Why would you want to run Leopard on a machine that won't even be able to run it at a decent speed? Faking the processor is fine but if you don't have enough memory then what's the point?
     
  3. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #3
    No doubt, it sucks hard enough on machines that actually MEET the minimum spec, I don't know why you'd want to subject yourself to that ;)
     
  4. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #4
    I used LeopardAssist to get it running on a 450mHz G4 with 1.5GB of ram. It's pretty close to being unusable. I wouldn't want to even try with less memory.

    I'm not 100% sure, but LeopardAssist may trick the installed into thinking there's enough RAM as well as the minimum processor.
     
  5. Cosmoza macrumors member

    Cosmoza

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    I'll do the same, just for the sake of trying, for either 400 or 466 powermac.. sadly currently i have only 3 x 256mb of memory available. Shall see what happens. As well, i'll drop Ati Radeon 9800 pro to 466 (currenly running tiger 10.4) and maybe an DVD-+RW drive. Looking for processor upgrade!
     

Share This Page