Fallout 3 on a macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by modified, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. modified macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    Checking to see if anyone has attempted to run Fallout 3 on a macbook. If so, please share your experience and stats of machine.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    Haven't received my MacBook yet, but reading these specifications my gut feeling says it'll run fine.
     
  3. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #3
    I have the new Macbook 2.4 w/ 2 GB of RAM; the stock one. I just played Fallout 3 (for about 2-3 hours) and it works fine on it, with "Medium" settings. I haven't played around w/ the other settings yet, but other than that, the game seems to run fine on it. It doesn't look the greatest but it works.
     
  4. Hyuga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki or Barcelona
    #4
    Did you play it on Vista or XP?
     
  5. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #5
    Fresh install of XP Service Pack 2
     
  6. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    #6
    played it on my mbp tonight and it looks great but I will try it on my mb also to see how well it plays.
     
  7. EricJD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #7
    Why not SP3?
     
  8. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #8
    I only had my old SP2 disc handy at the time and was too anxious to play the game right away :) I didn't want to have to wait forever for SP3 to finish downloading and installing. I will upgrade it to SP3 later this weekend but I'm pretty sure it will work w/ SP3. Just haven't had time. You know how hard it is to wait for the OS to finish installing just to play a game you want to try right away? :)
     
  9. Yoda3984 macrumors member

    Yoda3984

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #9
    I've been running it at medium settings in XP Pro SP3, and it runs just fine. I hate not having things run at native resolution, so I bumped it to 1280x800 and it still runs pretty smooth.
     
  10. ATimson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #10
    I'm impressed. I expected it to take one look at the video card and die. :)
     
  11. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #11
    Yeah, I used to own a Dell m1330 w/ the nvidia 8400M (google "m1330 nvidia problems" or search the same on youtube), and I REALLY hope nvidia won't screw us again w/ the 9400M. Granted, I didn't buy the MacBook primarily for gaming--and I'm sure I could get better results w/ the MB Pro. But considering that I can pull out this at the airport during, say that 3-4 hour delayed flight and catch up on some 3d gaming is a definite plus.
     
  12. ccc2484 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #12
    How did you guys install it on your bootcamp partition using windows SP2? Ive tried installing it several times but when i open the rar.6 file it says some error like "the disk is probably full" or something. my partition is 32 gigs fat and i have 22gigs set aside for the game... so whats the deal? Is there a way to make the partition bigger with the other type of formatting or what? Would love an answer on this one!
     
  13. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #13
    I formatted the partition using NTFS instead of FAT32... I don't know if that helps you or not. I do know that FAT32 cannot store files that are greater than 4 GB. That might be the problem?
     

Share This Page