fallout 3 on SR MBP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rick987611, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. rick987611 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    I have fallout3 downloading on stream right now. Anyone else try this on a last gen MBP. 2.4 ghz, 8600m gt 256. Wondering what I can expect, hoping for at least lowmid-mid settings.
     
  2. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #2
    How did it work?

    How big is the download?

    How big is the install to play?
     
  3. rick987611 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    it was about 6 gigs I think. Runs pretty well, honestly it looks better then the ps3 screens I have seen. Kinda a surprise. Had to tweak a bit, but the default settings it picked out were pretty good.
     
  4. thomahawk macrumors 6502a

    thomahawk

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
  5. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #5
    Yeah, I'd love to see some pics, vids, or more in-depth settings. I'm very curious to see how this runs on the new MBP, and I would assume your 8600 would be a pretty good indicator...
     
  6. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #6
    There's another thread in the MBP forum.

    I have the previous gen. MBP with 512MB 8600. The game runs smoothly at "High" settings and 1920x1200 resolution. I turned off AA because at that resolution you don't really need it. The new MBP will have no trouble with this game, either, and can probably up the settings. I didn't tweak any of the distance fade-outs from the detected default. The game looks great as it is, so I don't see a real need to change anything there.
     
  7. pintavodki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #7
    Wow, that's really great to hear. I'm going to buy a new MBP and was wondering how Fallout 3 would run on it. Looks like it's gonna run just fine. =) Nice. =)
     
  8. thegreatgatz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #8
    hey guys - what drivers are you using with you 8600m? i have the 178.24 from laptopvideo2go, but wanted to see if you've found a more stable version.
     
  9. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #9
    I seem to have 177.92 on mine that I put on in early Sep. That version seems quite stable to me. I've had no game crashes since I've been using it.
     
  10. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I'm running whatever drivers came with the Boot Camp 2.1.2 (?) update. Fallout3 runs fantastic on my MBP, game detected the hardware to run everything high. I'm still super early in the game but am definitely impressed so far.

    On a side note, anyone played/playing BioShock on the MBP?
     
  11. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #11
    I purchased it via steam. It downloaded, but I haven't been able to install it yet (tonight!) I can't wait.

    After all the kids and candy and crap goes away, and my daughters in bed.

    Sigh.
     
  12. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #12
    It's good! Runs great at 1440x900 with everything on 'High', and AA at Zero and Anistropic at 4.

    I am getting some crashes though, so I need to look into updating my video and audio drivers.
     
  13. ViM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    does this run on the previous macbook pro the X1600 256? Or should i just get oblivion which is apparently a similar style game but fantasy instead of post-apocalyptic?
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    yes i also want to know the answer to the x1600 question, my poor old laptop :(
     
  15. soms macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    I'd imagine if you can run Oblivion fairly well then you can run F3 equally or better. There are no trees all over like in Oblivion and grass is sparse as well.
     
  16. glyphery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    #16
    Fallout 3 DVD-ROM Error on SR MBP (BootCamp)

    Hello, everyone. I'll probably be cross-posting this on several likely threads, so my apologies if you come across this more than once.

    My situation is this. I received Fallout 3 as a birthday pressie and the DVD-ROM installed perfectly on the Windows desktop computer, which is the 'gaming rig'. But it would be nice to be able to play a bit of the game when I'm away from home, so I also tried installing it on WinXP SP3 running via a BootCamp partition on my MacBook Pro...

    ...and the MBP's drive won't recognise the disc. I pop it in, it whirrs up, Windows temporarily locks up My Computer, and after a minute of desperate whirring and clicking, the MBP drive spits out the retail DVD-ROM again.

    Has anyone out there experienced this before... and if so, can you give me any advice on how to fix this problem? Is it just because Apple 'SuperDrives' are rubbish, or could this have something to do with Fallout 3 using SecureROM or god knows what else? I've installed dozens of Windows games on my MBP using BootCamp and never before encountered a game disc being rejected like this.

    I just want to play the game I legally own, on Windows... just on my MBP. Any ideas out there? Many thanks in advance!
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    glyphery: i would make an image of the disc using your PC, then transfer that over onto your mac, and virtually mount it using a program (forget the name of it i use, a quick google search should help you).

    it will then act as a perfect DVD, it should install right there and then.

    try this, or this. I would actually recommend Magic ISO, i think thats what i use....
     
  18. glyphery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    #18
    I appreciate the suggestion. Alas, so far I haven't had much (any) joy with ISO disc image emulation. I created an ISO image of the Fallout 3 disc on the Windows box (using a suite called Gizmo Director or somesuch), transferred it over to the MBP's hard drive, and used Daemon Tools Lite to mount the ISO as a virtual DVD-ROM drive. Unfortunately, the SecuROM DRM that Fallout 3 uses could tell that the drive was emulated rather than physical. (This, even when I ran the special 'SecuROM mode' option in Daemon Tools Lite.) I'll have a peek at Magic ISO, though, since you recommend it...
     
  19. The Red Wolf macrumors regular

    The Red Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    Occi Dens Pacifica
    #19
    X1600 256MB Playable

    I run Fallout 3 in XP SP3 with the current Fallout 3 update. It runs quite well on my 256 X1600. The minimum requirements for Fallout 3 need 256 MB VRAM so I don't know how well the 128 VRAM version would work. Granted yes low-medium settings, but completely playable. The only time it seems to be slow is with disk access but at other points to previously visited areas very fast. I've a 7200 160 GB drive. There is some room to play with the settings for video features as the 2.33 GHz C2D and 2 GB RAM surpass the minimum requirements. The computer is in my signature.
     
  20. Companion cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #20
    [​IMG]

    Macbook aluminium and a desktop i ordered and built myself(core2Quad 2.66,ati HD 4850,4gb ram etc.)

    The whole setup costs as much as a tricked out macbook pro 15 inch, runs fallout 3 at 1680x1050 at a solid 60fps and ultra settings. Really i dont get why people try to run any serious game on a macbook pro.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    oh well thats not good, i have never had any problems with ISO's and virtual images. Magic ISO has been really good to me, give it a try and see how you go.

    this is very good news!! i have a 2.16ghz CoreDuo MBP, so that is really going to suck for me. i only have a 5400rpm drive aswell but it performs just as fast as my old 7200rpm drive. (wanted the space over the speed). maybe i will install on an external drive.

    portability. that would be the main reason. can you take your desktop computer away on a trip and play it? i think not.

    another reason is that people only have notebooks, some people dont buy desktops so yea, its their only choice!
     
  22. cptrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #22
    I don't trust the Hackintosh thing at all yet, and there's no way I'm going to live with an all-Windows box just to play a few games. Not to mention the whole portability thing.

    Now if I were a hard-core gamer, it'd be a different story. But all I want to do is play Fallout 3, Empire: TW at decent settings, the current TW games, maybe Company of Heroes, and Civ 4 BtS. And I don't care too much about online play. So my soon-to-arrive (though the current 7200rpm HD shortage makes me worry) 2.8 MBP should be fine!
     
  23. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    you dont trust it? have you ever built and used a stable hackintosh before? my hackintosh is stable as, it rocks my socks off!! i've overclocked it and its faster than my iMac. it is an awsome machine and is way stable/better than the ****** windows it was running before i put leopard on it.
     
  24. Companion cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #24
    Its NOT a bloody Hackintosh, thats just the macbook hooked up to the the pc's display, the computer itself is built from the ground up for gaming purely to get the most bang for my buck instead of paying insane prices for medicore graphics hardware.

    Its a lovely alternative, i have the laptop for all my work on the go, and the external display for when i need alittle more room, along with a really awsome piece of hardware at home for when i want to play games properly.

    Done right this all costs as much as a high-end macbook pro on its own, which i find crazy to be honest.
     
  25. cptrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #25
    Are you stuck on 10.5.2 though? It's the inability to update that worries me.

    The reason I bought my MBP is that there's a good chance that I'll be moving out of the country in fall of 2009 and I want to bring a decent computer with me. If I DON'T move, though, I'm probably going to take a crack at a hackintosh...would you mind terribly giving me your specs? I'd be interested to see which setups work perfectly. I spec'd one out the other day for less than $1000:

    Core 2 Quad 2.6ghz CPU
    Some Intel mobo, I forget which (this is one of the pieces I do not thoroughly understand...I'm far from a tech geek, though I can hold my own)
    4gb Crucial RAM
    GeForce 9800GTX
    1TB Seagate HD
    Raidmax Smilodon Case
    Plus whatever optical drive and soundcard (these seem to be pretty universal)

    That's all VERY appealing if I know I can get it to work!
     

Share This Page