Fallout 3 under Bootcamp C.T.D. problems

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by coyote23, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. coyote23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey Folks! First time poster - long, long time reader of these forii.

    I can only imagine someone is having a similar issue that I am - & I'm hoping that some clever individual has found a fix for that issue.

    Namely, Fallout 3 C.rash T.o D.esktop issues.

    I have a 2.8Ghz 24" iMac w/4 gigs RAM - ATI HD2600 w/256 meg video card...bootcamp installed along with bootcamp updates. Windows XP SP2 with all updates. Lastest version of Catalyst Control Center installed along with latest AMD/ATI bootcamp drivers. Additionally, I have ATI Tray Tools installed (an overclocking utility) that I have set to 700/756. Crashes occur with or without Tray Tools activated. This is the only game under Windows (I've played) which crashes.


    OK - so, what's the deal with is game? I've read A LOT of stuff on the 'net about endless CTD's. Many, many people are seemingly experiencing this...along with freezes, etc.

    The more I play a character, the more frequent the CTD's become. Eventually, my saved games get to the point where (when I load a saved game) my keyboard becomes totally non-responsive...but the mouse still works. What a waste of $49.95!

    Btw: I d/l'ed the digital version from Direct2drive along with the official Patch for that version. Didn't do a thing to fix a thing.

    Yes, I've tried all of the fixes I can which are out there...including getting rid of FFDShow for both audio & video.

    If Fallout 3 works for you under Bootcamp, what rig do you have? Windows version? Etc. etc. Thanks!
     
  2. The Red Wolf macrumors regular

    The Red Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    Occi Dens Pacifica
  3. coyote23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #3

    Yep, as mentioned towards the end of my post. Official Patch (available through Direct2drive.com) did nothing to ease my gaming woes.
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #4
    2006 MacPro Quad 2.6ghz, 8GB ram with 8800GTS running XP SP3

    No issues with Fallout 3
     
  5. coyote23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. At this point, I've given up.

    Updated to SP3. Reinstalled .NET framework, followed up on another couple random suggestions here & there found on the 'net. Nothing seems to work. I even thought it could be my video card being overtaxed - but, even on the lowest settings CTD's galore. Sheesh. I don't even have anything installed on my Bootcamp partition - save for Zonealarm...still crashes with Zonealarm turned off.

    Alas. Going to write to Direct2drive.com & see about a refund. Highly doubt they'll give one, but it's the first one I've asked for out of the 20-ish games I've d/l'd through them.
     
  6. mongrol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #6
    Try running it on one CPU.

    Run FalloutLauncher,
    Bring up task manager, rightclick FalloutLauncher process and select "Set Affinity". Untick CPU 0 so it only runs on CPU 1. Then use the launcher to run Fallout3.

    You need to do this every time you play.

    Or you could do what I did and sell the piece of criminal junk on ebay and buy Mass Effect instead. :)
     
  7. coyote23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #7
    yep, p.o.j. indeed....

    Even that solution doesn't do the trick for me. I tried it again just in case.

    btw: I even tried MS's SP3 update, thinking somehow that might effect a change. :-(
     
  8. Dagless Suspended

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    XP SP3, December unibody MacBook (stock); runs like a charm
    XP SP3, 2006 17" iMac (stock); runs okay

    This is the Steam version with it fully up to date.
     
  9. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    Aluminum MacBook 2.0Ghz 4GB RAM under TinyXP 32bit bootcamp 2.1 drivers; not sure what ver. of fallout 3 I have.. but works fine.
     
  10. joewelcome macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #10
    I have a 24" AA iMac 3.06ghz NVIDIA GeFORCE 8800 GS
    Running Windows XP Pro SP3

    I was having the same issues. Fallout 3 would always crash while travelling,trading, and entering doors. I manually upgraded my video card drivers and I haven't experienced a crash yet.

    Here is how I manually upgraded:

    1. restart windows in safe mode (hold f8 on restart)

    2. open device manager

    3. right click on VideoCard (mine is NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GS) under Display Drivers

    4. Select "Upgrade Drivers"

    5. In wizard choose to install from a specified location

    6. select "Don't search.." option

    7. click on your video card and click next.

    It worked for me so I hope this helps.
     

Share This Page