Fallout New Vegas blackout crash

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Nomenclature, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. Nomenclature macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #1
    Rats.

    Running this game in Boot Camp. Everything seemed to be fine for a while. Then whammo, the screen turns black and it's off to the power button to start over. It pains me to hit that button.

    I've tried playing multiple times and it's always the same story. After about 10-15 minutes I get the black screen again and there's nothing I can do.

    Updated everything I can find to update. I'm at a loss, and I haven't much time to play the game, let alone try to fix Windows so I can play a game.

    I'd truly appreciate any help at all. Fallout 3 ran without issues. I have even made a clean partition for the game just in case the other partition was troubled.

    Mac Pro dual 2.8
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Windows xp pro

    Very very frustrating.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #2
    This is from start of a new game? Then crashes? I just installed and played today have an hour without problems. Fixed a fewannoyanves though. I know Nvidia updated drivers for fallout. Check ati?
     
  3. Nomenclature thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #3
    It ran very well for the first hour or so. But now, I'm lucky to get 20 minutes in without it crashing. And not your ordinary off to the desktop crash. Black screen... no recourse.

    I've read that turning off Steam cloud sync can get rid of some crashed. I'll try that next. It's amazing to me that this can happen though. Clean XP install, fresh updates, etc.

    I updated the ATI card with the most recent driver and it made no difference. I also tried running the game with lower graphics. No help.

    I found a site that listed a "8# Fallout New Vegas Blackscreen Fix" and well... it had a solution for the first 7 and many more after that. #8 was a blank. I suppose I should be glad they listed it?

    I'll keep searching.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #4
    You're in the driver's seat

    I don't get it. You paid for something that doesn't work. Either take it back for a refund or have whomever sold it to you fix it.

    Unfortunately you're in a situation where you will not be able get satisfaction quickly. Get the seller working on fixing it. In the meantime, play something else or go outside and look at the clouds.
     
  5. Nomenclature thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #5
    I'm with you but it's not going to be that easy. I'm sure someone out there knows what's going on with this and I don't imagine the producer will take my call just now. I'm clearly in the minority with this crash.

    Not interested in a refund. I'm just hoping to find a fix.

    I lowered the graphics and turned off the Steam Cloud sync. 10 minutes in, same blackout.

    Don't worry, I always find time to look up at the clouds.

    I'm leaning toward some kind of bug with my graphics card. Why I think that is a mystery to me.

    on and on and on...
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Wow, a clean partition with nothing else on there, and everything updated. I don't know what to say, you've tried everything reasonable.

    It works great for me on the MP 2.8. I'm using Windows 7 x64 and a 5770 though.
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    is it possible for you to try on Vista or Win 7?
     
  8. pooryou macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #8
    Might just be a buggy game needing an update from the developer.
    I've heard of it crashing for people on Xbox 360 also....
     
  9. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #9
    Fallout New Vegas has severe memory leaks. On the Playstation3 I can play for about 2 hours before it locks up.

    Many quests appear to have bugs as well. I also have a problem where items don't appear properly listed (e.g. two Motorcycle Helmets appear as only one).

    The internet is full of complaints from people who say they couldn't leave certain buildings without causing crashes, etc.

    Very buggy game. A patch is expected soon.
     
  10. eldiablo13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #10

    Hi.

    It is strange. I have the very same problem. Crashing and restarting after i shoot somebody. I have ATI 5750 1 GB
     

Share This Page