Fan blowing at max

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alphaod, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I usually leave my Mac Pro on 24/7 and I went on a trip a few weeks ago. Sometimes during my trip my Mac Pro crashed. I got home yesterday to find the fans blowing at maximum speed. I've tried a SMC reset that didn't do anything.

    I'm thinking a thermal sensor is broken, but iStat doesn't list anything as over temp… I'm wondering what I can do at this point, and it's just out of AppleCare by a few months (though a lot of parts where replaced the week before AppleCare ran out).
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Is there no 3 months warranty on repairs?
    Never heard of that this is the case, what I would do is call Apple and mention it was repaired a while ago and you have problems again, they might solve it for free.
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  4. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Have you given the insides a good cleaning lately? I've heard of dust balls shorting things out inside, if it's been a really long time since you've gone in and cleaned. Perhaps a loose connection here or there as well, but I gather it was untouched while you were gone, so maybe not.

    I'd also do the PRAM reset, not just the SMC. I have had full fan syndrome once myself, and I did the PRAM and SMC resets together, so I don't know which fixed it, but it returned to normal after and ever since.
     
  5. alphaod thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Update on this.

    I tore the entire computer apart.

    Cleaned everything, rid of all dust and debris. It's not having any more issues.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I'm glad you got it resolved!
    Good call.
    NVRAM has nothing to do with fan issues. Resetting it will not help. Only resetting the SMC addresses such issues.
     

Share This Page