Fan Control

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WinterBlue, May 30, 2014.

  1. WinterBlue macrumors newbie

    WinterBlue

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    #1
    I have had my a1260 macbook pro for a while now. It has held up for me through everything, even when I had it with me in an motorcycle accident and escaped with only a broken screen and dinged bottom. But a couple of months ago, the Hitachi HDD died on me and I lost everything, but before this happened I had set the fans to max RPM with SMCFanControl. After swapping HDD's out I didn't have a Mac OSX CD on hand, so I installed windows and used Lobotomo's windows fan control every time I booted up I had to lower the RPM. I have since acquired a disc of mavericks and have installed it, but am failing at finding a way of reducing the RPM. SMCFanControl will not work, nor the mac version of Lobotomo Fan Control, nor the iStat Menus. I am in need of a controller, because my fans run down my battery before I can get three class periods over with and it is very noisy.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
  3. WinterBlue thread starter macrumors newbie

    WinterBlue

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    #3
    Yes, I have and nothing has resulted from it.
     
  4. niteflyr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    Perhaps a bad temp sensor is telling the fans to run.
     
  5. WinterBlue thread starter macrumors newbie

    WinterBlue

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    #5
    Nope. Replaced the sensors and nothing changed. iStat Menus is showing the correct temp ranges for everything.
     
  6. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #6
    And the reported temperatures seem normal?

    Can you run AHT by holding D or Option + D when turning the computer on? It might be, that you would need the second disk from the original disk set to run AHT. There's a thread in apple Support Communities, that might be of help, if the second disk is not available.
     

Share This Page