Fan Issues! running full blast :: OWC memory added?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BSTUNO, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. BSTUNO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #1
    Hello I have a Mac Pro:

    I recently added 6- 4GB memory from OWC

    Fan is running full blast!

    I already did a reset the SMC

    Any help?

    Thanks in advance. I'll be relieved to get this figured out.

    -Justin



    Mid 2010
    2 x 2.4 Quad Core
    26 GB 1066 Mhz DDR3
    Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB
    10.7.3

    Let me know if any other specs are needed.

    Here is the memory info.

    slots 4 and 8 are the 1gb mac stock memory.
    Memory Slots:

    ECC: Enabled

    DIMM 1:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 2:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 3:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 4:
    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 5:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 6:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 7:
    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 8:
    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK


    temps on attached images are in fahrenheit
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Perhaps this an obvious thing to try, but what happens if you take the RAM you added out and put back in what was there previously?

    I would also check that you haven't inadvertently knocked something, or loosened a connector somewhere. Those temperatures do seem rather high.
     
  3. BSTUNO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #3
    I replaced the OWC memory with the factory Mac memory.

    fan is NOT running at full speed now.

    I used a static free surface and a ground wrist wire for the install, so I don't think that's the issue. And I was careful to not loosen anything. Plus it's working like factory after the memory replacement.

    Something with the OWC memory?

    Here is the factory setup for memory
    Memory Slots:
    ECC: Enabled

    DIMM 1:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 2:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 3:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 4:

    Size: Empty
    Type: Empty
    Speed: Empty
    Status: Empty

    DIMM 5:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 6:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 7:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    DIMM 8:

    Size: Empty
    Type: Empty
    Speed: Empty
    Status: Empty

    I'd like to get that 24GB memory working.

    perhaps when I left the 1GB Mac memory on slots 4 and 8 that it could cause the issue?

    on the OWC site, it said this is the way to do it.

    Thanks,

    -Justin
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    Yes, don't keep the mac memory in there too...
     
  5. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #5
    Earlier Mac Pros require the memory be fitted as matched pairs. Try installing the 6x4GB modules as pairs and see what happens. If you have the user manual it will show how to set up memory.
     
  6. BSTUNO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #6
    The fan still runs to full blast about 5 min from start up with no programs running.

    It ran correctly with the factory 1gb x6

    with the OWC 4gb x6 only the fan revs up to full about 5 min in.

    I've swapped them out multiple times, and it's the owc every time.

    What can be the issue?
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    So if you only have two sticks in does the issue still happen? (One in CPU A slots and one in CPU B slots?)

    Sounds like one or all of the temperature sensors aren't working... Which fan is it? (iStat Menus will tell you).
     
  8. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Surely if the fan behaves itself if the original memory is used instead means that the temperature sensors are fine? (Unless there are temperature sensors on the memory.)

    Try two sticks of the OWC RAM at a time in different combinations. Perhaps one or more sticks are bad. You have three pairs; try sticks 1 and 2 first, then sticks 3 and 4, then sticks 5 and 6. What happens then? Is the OWC RAM physically larger than the Apple stuff? Is a connector or something being moved or pushed out of position when you add the other RAM in?
     
  9. xav8tor, Mar 23, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012

    xav8tor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #9
    Apple spec RAM for the MP has a temp sensor on the RAM itself. Others have reported that a bad (RAM) temp sensor will indeed max out the fan. Sounds like one of your OWC sticks has a bad sensor on it.
     
  10. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #10
    No. There are four temp sensors on the board itself (and I think another four actually for a total of eight) and then another sensor on the sticks themselves.

    Given that people get away with sticks with no temp sensors (non-ECC) I don't quite understand why your OWC memory is having issues.

    I suspect it is reporting a valid, but incorrectly high temp, hence the fan speeds.
     
  11. BSTUNO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #11
    Update:

    Sorry been working while testing.

    So it's currently working fine with 4 in slots 1/5, 2/6

    Size: 4 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
    Status: OK

    Works with:
    2 in slots 1/5
    4 in slots 1/5, 2/6


    The fan went full blast in about ~12 min after the 5th and 6th was added to the 3/7 slots

    I haven't tried swapping the last two chips with a different two, to see if it's a bad chip yet.

    I'll do this once I have a chance.

    would it be better to have all 8 slots filled up instead of 6? could this be the issue?

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page