fan noise

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Redfern, Jun 14, 2007.

1. Redfern macrumors newbie

sorry if this is not the exact forum but...it is about fan noise from my
    G5 1.8 duo. Normally it is not too bad though of-course still has to be housed away - a cupboard with a big window. However, when the fan goes into "hyperdrive" not even the cupboard can contain the noise. I should say the computer does this wherever it is located - we are not talking about location of computer here. Is there a solution - for example replacing the fan? If so what make/model etc. Have others working in audio experienced this issue? I work as a voice over using a combined studio and control room hence the problem.

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

G5 1.8 duo?... Err, I think you might have your wires crossed. Do you have a G5 Power Mac, a G5 iMac or an Intel iMac? :eek:

Regardless, use one of the iSlayer products (app or widget or whatever) to tell us how fast your fan is spinning. :)

3. Redfern thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks

Many thanks. Using a PowerMac G5.
    Have downloaded the iSlayer. The fan is working ok but as soon as I notice the noise I'll note the stats and repost.

4. Redfern thread starter macrumors newbie

Fan stats (at its noisiest):
    CPU B intake 1000 rpm
    CPU B exhaust 300
    CPU A exhaust 3200
    CPU A intake 3104
    Drive Bay 1162
    Slots 76
    backside 51

5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

The first thing I noticed when I got my MacPro was how much quieter the fans were in comparison to my previous G5 PowerMac.

6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

I don't think those numbers look all that bad. Yeah, the Power Macs were notoriously loud. I don't actually have one though, so hopefully someone who does can come by and help you out. :eek:

7. Redfern thread starter macrumors newbie

update