Fans go overdrive whilst on sleep...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by andrew050703, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. andrew050703 macrumors regular

    andrew050703

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Portsmouth, U.K
    #1
    Just got a replacement Macbook Pro 13" this week for my old Macbook; however, it drains the battery at an incredible rate if I put the computer to sleep.

    About a minute after I close the lid, the fans cycle up to full speed and stay that way until the battery drains ~ 4 hrs.

    I've done a hardware check using the install disks but no errors are reported.

    Just to check - has anyone else had this/found a solution? I'd love to get it sorted so I don't have to go to the Genius Bar.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Does it actually go to sleep? Is the sleep light pulsating?
    Have you tried an SMC reset yet?
     
  3. andrew050703 thread starter macrumors regular

    andrew050703

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Portsmouth, U.K
    #3
    Yes (I think... no, I'm sure), Yes, and Yes. Any other ideas?
     
  4. RockPortTech, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011

    RockPortTech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    South Texas
    #4
    Seems this has happened to many since the snow leopard upgrade, others have posted that it's dust trapped in the system and still others state it's due to a recent software install (googled your subject line). Mayhaps a backup and then fresh install of snow leopard could be the cure? Others cured it by re-seating the ram, with a quick blast of air while they were in there. Best of luck.
     
  5. andrew050703 thread starter macrumors regular

    andrew050703

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Portsmouth, U.K
    #5
    Thanks, I'll give the reinstall a whirl tonight - not sure about opening it up just yet!
     
  6. ghostlyorb macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #6
    Interesting. I hope my new 15.4" 2.3Quad i7 I'm about to order soon will have this problem. I hope not.
     
  7. andrew050703 thread starter macrumors regular

    andrew050703

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Portsmouth, U.K
    #7
    Took it to the Genius bar today - they couldn't figure it out at all so swapped out the logic board. Hopefully when I go & collect it, it'll be fine...
     

Share This Page