Fans kicking on way too much

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by xkmxkmxlmx, Aug 18, 2011.

1. xkmxkmxlmx, Aug 18, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011

xkmxkmxlmx macrumors 6502a

xkmxkmxlmx

I have a new 2011 i5 13" MBA. The fans kick on far too often.

At first I thought it was ventilation, or the content I was using. But for instance, it just kicked on and ran at full speed just from synching my phone. (stat had the cpu at 97).

This is my second 2011. My first had a previous issue and had to be returned. I don't think I have ever heard the fan on that thing not even ONCE.

I have tried everything on this page:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964

At this point I don't know what to do.

I have to consider this a defect as it happens way too often and it did not happen with my last.

It is upsetting because in the last few months I have had issues with every single one of my apple products.

This is my third iPhone 4. My second MBA. And I just shipped my iMac in for repair yesterday... :/

*edit*
    Since posting this, I restarted and closed every program and disconnected my phone.

I went back to finish browsing this forum with ONLY safari open and nothing else. I am in a well ventilated area. Fans are once again running at about half speed (judging by sound).

2. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

Adidas Addict

Have you checked activity monitor to see if something is running wild?

3. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

I'd suggest iStat so you can have an objective view of your fans.

At 6000RPM I can barely hear them. No, I am not deaf. But I guess different folks have different tolerances for noise. I sleep with a big fan every night because I like the "whoooooosh" sound. Don't bother me one bit... :cool:

4. xkmxkmxlmx thread starter macrumors 6502a

xkmxkmxlmx

I have checked activity monitor, yes. Barely a process running at the time.

I do use iStat, just didn't grab the numbers when I heard it earlier.