Fans not spinning after smcfancontrol usage

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by flclkun, Apr 20, 2013.

1. flclkun macrumors newbie

So i've been doing some testing with SMCfan control and have noticed some issue and wanted to find out if other users are having the same problem.

I've noticed that if i quit out of smc and start playing starcraft or watching a stream the OSX will not "take over" and the fans will not kick up as the cpu starts to heat up. After noticing that my laptop was getting really hot i started up smc to see that the cpu was at 96C.

Even after deleting smc and a reboot the fans will not kick back up. I also noticed that after reinstalling smc the fan profile settings that i made returned. So im skeptical on if everything related to smc was deleted.

so here are my questions:

have others have issues with this?

what is the proper way to remove something like smc? (im new to osx) I know all you have to do is just move the program to the trash to uninstall a program. but i cant shake the feeling that remnants of programs still exist.

My most important question is, does anyone know the temp-to-fan rpm as the laptop heats up? i.e when the temp is 50c what is the fan rpm

thanks in advanced

2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

Have you tried smc reset?
    Also, my fan is around 1999 to 2001 rpm at 55C.

3. flclkun thread starter macrumors newbie

can you elaborate on the reset?

nvm i think i know what you mean. google was my friend.... this time

4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

5. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

What is the system spec? SMC Fan Control is just an app, so once removed all settings revert to default. If you want a more intelligent solution to keeping your Mac cooler try UltraFan developed by one of our own members, once again it`s just an app and has no lasting effect.