Fans on rMBP don't increase in speed by themselves. Need your help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dragonjinse, Aug 8, 2013.

1. dragonjinse macrumors 6502

Hi Guys,

I've had my MBP Retina for about 3 weeks now,

so I quickly discovered that the fans do not initiate/heat sensors don't function or something like that?
    I'm using SMC fan control to set a fan control on OSX,
    Somehow my fans no longer increase in speed by themselves. The temp was around 70-80C when I was watching video (Flash), but the fans still ran in the minimum rate (around 200rpm).
    It's like now since I was forced to use SMC fan control to control fans during otherwise the fans just don't get faster and the laptop gets hot.

Can anyone shed some light on this matter? Is it normal?
    What's the regular fans speed?

Thanks

2. B... macrumors 68000

B...

3. dragonjinse thread starter macrumors 6502

How to do it? I'm a newbie for mac

4. B..., Aug 8, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014

B... macrumors 68000

B...

5. bhayes444 macrumors 6502a

That sounds normal to me. I just got my retina MBP and the fans don't seem to spin up until the 80-90C range. I just figured that's how it normally is, especially since there's a number of people in other forums that express the same concerns. It only ever gets that high when playing games anyway, so the fans would need to spin up regardless. I could be wrong in my assumptions that it's designed to get that high before the fans turn on, and if so then please someone correct me.

6. dragonjinse thread starter macrumors 6502

Thank you

----------

I hope you're right! I'm concerned about it.. I came from the Dell's user.
    My laptop never got this high temp while I was using it. The fans were always on (with noises). I didn't mind it at all.

However, for the rmbp, it gets very hot sometimes! I just wanna make sure if this is normal or not.

7. Doward macrumors 6502a