FAQ: How much RAM will my MacBook take - Answers here.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Tander, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. Tander, Mar 29, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012

    Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #1
    So I see a lot of RAM upgrade questions lately and so i thought I would post information here. Maybe we can make this a sticky.

    This is a guide to all MacBooks ever made. Also, I will include Apple's recommended amount and actual amount you can put in, to give you guys a good idea - as well as the type of RAM you need.

    So, let's get on with it, shall we?

    MacBook 1.1 - 2006.

    Maximum RAM 2.0 GB
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 2.1 - Late 2006

    Maximum RAM 3.0 GB (Actual) 2.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 2.1 - Mid 2007

    Maximum RAM 3.0 GB (Actual) 2.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 3.1 - Late 2007

    Maximum RAM 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 4.1 - Early 2008

    Maximum RAM 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 4.1 Late 2008

    Maximum RAM 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 5.1 - 13" Aluminum, - Late 2008

    Maximum RAM 8.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 204-pin PC3-8500 (1066 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 5.1 - 13" Early 2009

    Maximum RAM 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 5.2 - 13" Mid 2009

    Maximum RAM 6.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of Ram Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-6400 (800MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 6.1 - 13" Late 2009

    Maximum RAM 8.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 204-pin PC3-8500 (1066MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM

    MacBook 7.1 - 13" Mid 2010

    Maximum RAM 8.0 GB (Actual) 4.0 GB (Apple)
    Type of RAM Slots 2 - 204-pin PC3-8500 (1066MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM


    I hope this answers a lot of the questions asked regarding Ram upgrades. :cool:
     
  2. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    Nice post from you. Think as well to have a look on MacTracker (the software) or Everymac.com (the website) for this kind of questions.
     
  3. Tander thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Do you want to edit these 2 MacBooks - they should both be MacBook 5,2 ?
     
  5. Tander thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #5
    Thank you for that. Wasn't paying attention. (Too poor, lol )

    Corrected now, though.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  7. Tander thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #7

    Yes, thank you for that. I just thought it would be nice to have it all in one place.

    R.
     
  8. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    No it isn't !!

    MacBook early 2009 should be MacBook 5,2 as well as the Mid-2009.....
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    That's why it's better to use the links I posted. Those resources are more reliable than a forum post.
     
  10. Tander thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #10
    Info is off MacTracker and assumed to be correct.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    MacTracker is sometimes slow to update information, which is why I post several sources. I find EveryMac.com to be more complete and up to date.
     
  12. Tander thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #12
    Well I'm sorry then.

    Was just trying to be helpful..
     
  13. McBeresford macrumors regular

    McBeresford

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    #13
    I think it might be worth noting that my MacBook 5,1 is running 1333 MHz 8GB chips. The system is recognizing and accepting them.

    And thank you Tander for putting this together! It takes a lot of energy and effort. Please don't feed the trolls...
     

    Attached Files:

  14. balrajbrar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    #14
    Hello McBeresford , I have a macbook 5.1 as well. I see your profile says you have a macbook pro.

    I was wondering exactly which ram you purchased so I could order the exact same one. Was this installed in a regular macbook 5.1? Thank you very much for the help
     
  15. gumblecosby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #15
    Wirelessly posted

    There have been reports of 8gb of ram in the white MacBook 5,2. Ddr2 is mad expensive so it's hard to take the risk though
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    Maximum RAM for the MacBook 5,2 is 6GB. The MacBook 6,1 and 7,1 were the only MacBook models that supported 8GB.
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
  18. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    Thanks for that info! I'm surprised EveryMac.com doesn't make note of that... they're usually so thorough! It still doesn't affect the 5,2 model, which uses a max of 6GB.
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    Welcome, even MacTracker doesn't show the new numbers. Now if only Apple will release a firmware update for the 7,1 iMac that'll allow 8Gb and booting into 64-bit mode.
     
  20. gumblecosby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #20
  21. Mutassem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #21
    Do not upgrade mac 5,1 to 1333

    Hello everyone ,, I have been testing this for a few months now.

    the 1333 8 gb on macbook pro 5,1 it will work .. but you will get gliches and your computer will hang every once in a while .. I went though so much struggle to try to know why my computer was having the loading issue . and when i went back to the old factory ram .. it went fine .

    The issue is the 1333 speed its not suitable but will run .. so its best to get 8 gb with the normal speed of 1067 ... make sure you dont do this mistake ..

    Cheers
     
  22. veryoddold, Aug 19, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013

    veryoddold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Japan
    #22
    6.0 GB?how it is possible?

    First of all, thank you for putting together these information.

    How it is possible to have the Actual 6.0 GB Ram, if my Macbook(3.1) have only two RAM slots?
    There is any other secret RAM slot, where I can insert one more 2.0 GB 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIM to obtain 3x2=6 like a 007?:eek:)

    Or perhaps you guys mean to insert two 4 GB200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM .
    Do exist this type of 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM with 4.0GB?Where?With these probably won't work:http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-667MHz-PC2-5300-PC2-5400-SODIMM/sim/B004LT6MSA/2/ref=pd_cp_pc_sexpl/180-3715512-7164533

    Do I need to upgrade the firmware to see my 3.1 Macbook the 6.0 GB RAM from eventually installed 8.0 GB RAM?

    Or, simply there is no way to have 6.0 GB RAM on my 3.1 Macbook? Right

    Thanks for your patience for reading all this.

    And thank you if someone would help.
     
  23. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #23
    You can either use two 4GB sticks, or one 4GB and one 2GB.
     
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
    Using two 4GB sticks in a Santa Rosa Mac, like the Macbook3,1, is not recommended. It'll see 8GB, but after using 6GB it becomes extremely slow and unstable because it runs out of memory registers.
     
  25. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #25
    Thanks for that info!
     

Share This Page