Far Cry 2 on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Artofilm, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Artofilm macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #1
    Pretty straight forward question...
    How well do you think a Mac Pro with 2GB ram and the 2600XT GPU will run Far Cry 2?

    I really want to buy this game, and I want it on PC, but only if the computer can support the graphics enough to get a good immersive experience from it. Otherwise I will get it for PS3, but I like mouse/keyboard controls much more.

    Anyone played Far Cry 2 on any Macs yet?
     
  2. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #2
    I'm running it on my MacBook Pro from earlier this year - 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 512MB nVidia 8600, and so on. I used the default settings and haven't checked FPS, but it runs and looks great.
     
  3. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #3
    Are the settings for the graphics in the game on about medium?
    Does the game slow down at all when things get intense?

    Thanks!
     
  4. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #4
    Probably medium - though it looks good enough and performs flawlessly so I haven't felt the need to fiddle ... more interested in PLAYING. No slowdowns encountered yet.
     
  5. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
  6. LiamS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #6
    Fc2

    What OS are you running it in...

    Vista 64 bit

    or

    XP Pro 32?

    I just bought this machine, and I am definatley going to buy this game but I don't know what OS to buy to run it on..?

    I've heard that XP is more stable, but Vista has DX 10, and 64bit is the way of the future.ect. .?

    Thanks...
     
  7. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #7
    tbh i'd get vista x64. It's a bit more future proof
     
  8. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #8
    I'm still on XP ... I have the Vista 64 upgrade but haven't installed yet ... well, in months since I got Vista in April ...
     
  9. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #9
    Regular Windows XP 32.
    Although, I haven't got a chance to buy the game yet, so I wouldn't be able to tell you how it runs.
     
  10. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #10
    So I got Far Cry 2 for my Mac Pro.

    It runs perfect with all graphics setting at Medium and the resolution set to 1680 x 1050. The game runs and looks beautifully!

    This is only using the basic 2600 XT GPU, I can only imagine how it would run using the 8800 for the Mac Pro!
     
  11. siorai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #11
    On my Mac Pro running XP Pro with an 8800GT I run it everything set to Very High, no AA, 1920x1200 and I get a pretty solid 40-50fps. The lowest I'll see is maybe about 34 and it will go up into the 70s on some occasions.
     
  12. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #12
    I cant wait to get this up and running now.

    Just waiting on that SAS cable to arrive (Wednesday with luck) and Ill have my Vist drive back up and running :)

    Thanks to you guys for posting your experiences Ill go buy the game tomorrow :)
     
  13. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #13
    Wow, that makes me really want the 8800.
    I bet it looks amazing with all of the settings at max and with such a high res. screen too!

    Sweeeet!
     
  14. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #14
    The game has surprisingly low power requirements, it shouldnt need a very expensive card to run things on high. I have a 9800gtx and was able to put everything on maximum (dx10 required) with no slow down. The 9800gtx is a good card but it cant do max settings on some of the newer games coming out like STALKER:CS and Crysis:Warhead (of course), so I was surprised it could do it with FarCry 2. Hopefully I'll have the same results with Fallout 3.
     
  15. Artofilm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #15
    Are you using the 9800gtx on a Mac Pro or a PC?
    If it's on a Mac Pro, I'm assuming the 9800gtx only works in the Windows partition am I right?
     
  16. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
  17. ecomac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #17
    Far Cry :: drivers upgrade for 8600M GT

    Hi, i need help please...
    I have a macbook pro 2.4 with a 8600M GT 256MB graphic card
    I have installed Far Cry 2 on Windows Vista 64 bits but the game give me a information that my graphic card drivers are old
    I can´t find the last drivers upgrade for my 8600M GT
    Can you, m:apple:c users help me?

    Thanks a lot :)
    Greetings from Portugal
     

Share This Page