OS X Far Cry 4 not working through Parallels 10

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TJ82, Dec 9, 2014.

1. TJ82 macrumors 6502a

TJ82

Works fine in Bootcamp but I get a blank screen as it tries to load when trying in P10. Is it hard to get games to work in Parallels in general? (I'm new to the software, always used Bootcamp before)

2. Irishman, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

Irishman macrumors 68030

What would be the advantage to running such a demanding title in virtualization?

3. Washac macrumors 68020

Washac

If it does not run under Parallels then Bootcamp is the way to go I am afraid, I now use both. I try Parallels first if the game does not run then its over to Bootcamp.

I have tried and tried to find a site that deals with what games run and what game do not under Parallels but as yest have not found one, so it is trail and error.

This may help to give parallels a little more grunt but not much, but a little.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qv5fnoCZbps

4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

It's a waste of time trying to get a modern AAA game, especially a new release, to run in a virtual environment. Even if you managed to get it to run, performance is almost certainly going to be so poor as to make it unplayable. Best to stick to Boot Camp in these situations.

5. TJ82 thread starter macrumors 6502a

TJ82

Thanks for the link. I'm going to have another go and try to optimise everything for it. But yeah, maybe I'll have to pass on this game until time allows me to switch over to Bootcamp and play it like that. I had Streetfighter 4 running on it smoothly which is why I took a punt on FC4.