Fast advice for cs student about macbook pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by niksynik7, Sep 4, 2009.

1. niksynik7 macrumors newbie

heyy everyone,
    I have been debating for days b/w a mbp 13 inch or hp dv3(my uni is offering a good discount). The prices for mbp(after excluding free ipod touch) and dv3 is almost the same abt 1000us$.
    I searched , but couldnt find anything concrete.
    I asked my professor, he said you can buy a mac, but windows will be better as it is cheaper and you will not face any problem about program compatibility. I am quite interested in a mbp 2.26ghz, but hp dv3 has much better specs(512 dedicated video memory,320gb hdd, 4gb ram, 2.53 ghz etc), so could u pls advice me if mac will be good if i will have to use windows on it later on. And i am completely new to macs...

2. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

u can run windows naitively on intel macs - you can even run them side by side using paralesis software.

your professor sounds like he needs some mac eduction!

3. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

yeah..that will always happen..u tend to get more hardware for the same money when you buy windows...your professor is quite right in saying that a windows environment will not have any problems of program compatibility..but u can run windows on a mac too..either via bootcamp or a virtual machine .... (though it kinda defeats the purpose of owning a mac)...

My advice to u is...make a list of the programs u need...see if they have mac counterparts..
    1. if yes : decide if u can live with lesser hardware of the beautifully designed mac and use Parallels (or any other program) to run the occasional windows program
      1. if yes, buy MAC (yipee!!)
      2. if no, enjoy ur HP.
    2. if no : buy HP and lead a peaceful life at the uni. Trust me..u dnt want to waste ur time debuggin program compatibility issues when u cud be out partying..

4. niksynik7 thread starter macrumors newbie