Fastest/Best GPU Upgrade for MP 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by scottrichardson, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. scottrichardson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #1
    Hey all,

    What's the best/fastest GPU I can put in my Mac Pro 2009 model 4,1 without needing to use any splitters or additional power supplies?

    Currently running Gigabyte GeForce 660Ti OC edition.

    Will be upgrading to a larger display (34" LG 3440 x 1440) to replace my two 24" LED displays soon and want something that can push the additional pixels.

    I hear the GeForce 800 series is on its way with better price, performance and power efficiency - but still keen to know what's doable NOW.

    I appreciate your input and suggestions.

    Kindest regards,

    Scott
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    If you want/need bootscreens our GTX780 is top spot. The 6 GB version barely fits in the envelope, the 3 GB is an easy fit.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    I'm running a Gigabyte 3 Fan GTX 780, 3GB RAM that's been flashed with an EFI by MVC. It's on my 5,1 Mac Pro. It's a sweet card, I recommend it and MVC.

    Lou
     
  4. scottrichardson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #4
    Oh sweet. So it has one 8 pin and 1 six pin power connector? What do they cost?
     
  5. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #6
    Dual HD7970s

    If you want to have the similar performance to the nMP, you should consider using two HD 7970s. Both cards are using internal power only, and it runs smoothly. Even using single HD7970 will bring you much better results (comparing to Nvidia) if APPLE video apps, e.g. FCPX, is what you mostly focusing on.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1732849
     
  6. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    I went with the 770 4GB in a 5,1 for the extra VRAM

    Worth considering if you need to load large scenes into Octane render or work with 4k+ files in resolve.

    3GB would probably be enough for 4k but the 1.28GB on our old GTX570 sure as hell wasn't
     
  7. applegeek897 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #8
    I was under the understanding that due to the way the power is distributed it couldn't run, are you using anything other than the stock PSU?

    Thanks.
     
  8. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #9
    I sent you a PM about this the other day, if you get in touch I'll be buying either this or the Titan once I've heard back. Thanks
     
  9. scottrichardson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #10
    I'm tempted by your 780. But, may I ask - will the standard one that I can buy on the shelves of PC stores still work? I already have no boot screen so it doesn't really bother me. But just wanted to know. Have you changed anything else on the card aside from the EFI?
     
  10. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    I have been very happy with my 7970 from MVC.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    Stock Power Only, No Issues! MVC modified the two 8 pin connectors to work just fine with the Mac Pros two 6 pin cables and board plugins.

    Lou
     
  12. Korican100, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014

    Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #13
    since MVC cards come pre-flashed, will I ever have to worry about flashing them again, or this is a one and done type of situation?
     
  13. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #14
    when you say the 6gb barely fits, do I have to force it in?
    I am interested in buying from your ebay page.

    I want to update my gtx680 mac edition 2gb. How much faster speeds can I expect?
     
  14. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #15
    the Titan needs external power
     
  15. bornblind macrumors 6502

    bornblind

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #16
    I'm looking to buy a 3GB or 6GB EVGA GTX 780 from Newegg. Should any of them work with my 5.1 Mac Pro? Will I need to buy a 8-6 pin power adapter? Thanks
     
  16. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #17
    And you have no power issues at all? How many peripherals/pcie/hdd bays do you have plugged in? Does that even matter? Sorry for the newb questions. I am thinking about purchasing from MVC and I am wondering If it will go good with my setup.
     
  17. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #18
    You mean "the Titan in an Apple Pro needs external power", right? Lots of other systems have plenty of internal power for a Titan. And if they don't, one can simply replace the standard ATX power supply with one that can feed one or more Titans.
     
  18. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    All my PCIe slots are filled.

    1 = Nvidia GTX 780
    2 = Apricorn Solo x2 with a Samsung 840 series SSD
    3 = Generic USB 2.0 Card
    4 = Inatek USB 3.0 Card

    I am running 2 Xeon W5590s. They have a max TDP of 130 watts ea.

    All My HDD bays are filled and both of my optical bays are filled with optical drives. My UPS with everything plugged in shows max load of less than 350W.

    No Issues.

    Lou
     
  19. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #20
    Exactly what I meant. Thanks
     
  20. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #21
    Can someone recommend a supplemental power supply for a Mac Pro to feed a Titan, with some headroom?

    Also, I'm trying to decide between the gtx780 6G and a Titan, flashed. I can't seem to get a good opinion on real world differences, and this isn't my area of expertise at all.

    I work with video apps like Avid, Adobe, Resolve, and I use the vram loving X-Plane.

    Thanks
     
  21. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #22
    Try Furmark from GPUTest with Luxmark on CPUs only in the background, then tell us what UPS will say. It's more like power virus, but still interesting.
     

Share This Page