Fastest ram speed in iMac 2009

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Arkious, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. Arkious macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #1
    As above really...

    What is the max ram speed the mac can handle... And will ones with heatsinks fit? (never actually looked inside the ram caddy as of yet)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    The fastest RAM you can use are 204-pin 1066 MHz PC3-8500 DDR3 SO-DIMMs.
    And modules with a heatsink won't fit.
     
  3. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #3
    Really? Even the 27" i7 version only takes 1066?

    I didn't realise there was a big difference between the late 2009 nd the 2010
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    1333MHz RAM will work with all iX iMacs. Apple only offered 1066MHz for 2009 though.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    That was all that was offered until last year. Honestly, the difference is unnoticeable. It would even be hard to notice the difference between DDR3 and DDR2, as the speeds are just that fast
     
  6. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #6
    Ahh okay that makes me feel better :-D obviously there is no way of getting into the bios to alter timings etc... I'm new to all this mac side of things that's all but thanks a bunch

    Just trying to get the most out of mine, gonna fit an internal Blu-ray drive also I know they are more pricey but the whole idea of the iMac is it's uniform body... Don't want extra bits attached to it or I woulda bought a pc :-D
     
  7. nicroma macrumors 6502a

    nicroma

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #7
    The 2009 i7 iMac will recognize DDR 1333 RAM. There was a thread on here where a guy swapped out his 1066 for 1333 RAM and he said the difference was noticeable. The system profile actually shows they are running at 1333 as well. I'm getting ready to make the upgrade myself from 8GB 1066 to 16GB 1333.
     
  8. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    Hi Arkios,
    Macs don't use BIOS but EFI (Extensible Firmware Interface).
    You can't access or adjust anything (only with Firmware upgrades).
     
  9. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #9
  10. DD4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #10
    Using faster memory won't increase performance at all. The computer will just slow down the ram's speed.
     
  11. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #11
    I don't understand your comments at all? If higher speed ram made no difference why was it created an why is it installed in the current generation of iMac? When it comes to simple computing I would agree but high intensity graphical applications would see an improvement?

    Does anyone know if the ram I have linked would be any good or is it just cheap crap? Are Lattancys higher in so-dimm modules than standard dimm?
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Some apps, although very few, can take advantage of such high memory bandwidths. Most commercial software can't. Technology develops even though most people don't notice the difference.

    Seems to be compatible but the brand doesn't ring a bell in my head.
     
  13. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Okay cool, thanks a bunch

    What about latencies... They make a difference on macs?
     
  14. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #14
    You might notice a ram bandwidth difference when gaming, and it might give you a couple more fps (like only 2-3), but that's about the only circumstance I could see for the average user.

    Ram latency you probably won't notice either.


    About the ONLY justification people have given for 1333mhz ram in their 09 iMcas was synthetic benchmark results.
     
  15. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Okay thanks very much :)
     

Share This Page