Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RWonk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
I am new to these forums. I am also new to Macs. I just got a new Mac Book for Christmas and so far I love it. I have a Windows only program I use so after some research bought and installed VMWare Fusion. The problem is when I tried loading Windows XP Professional SP2, I get a message saying: Fatal error 'ASMS' file missing. Any ideas as to how I can remedy this??? Please keep in mind that I am pretty computer stupid.

WildPalms

macrumors 6502a
Jan 4, 2006
Honolulu, HI
Are you getting that error in the initial setup stage? i.e. the blue screen file copying stage? That may indicate a bad cd read, for example a scratch. Check for scratches or even a fingerprint on the cd rom can cause that sort of error.

What I have done in the past to speed up the install process is make an .iso image of the cd rom on hard drive and use that image to perform the install. The image creation process can also help to show up any disk read errors.

Let me know if you want to try the method I described and I'll post the instructions.

RWonk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
No. The files copied OK I think. It was during the "Installing Windows" part when the error message comes up. ???? And as I said, I am "puter stupid". what exactly is an iso image?? :eek:

WildPalms

macrumors 6502a
Jan 4, 2006
Honolulu, HI
So the first screen comes up, copying files, then the reboot, then the fancier blue install screen with the fascinating messages and the progress bar on the left, is that right? Is that where you see the error?

Ok, that Microsoft article kinda points to what my second thought was. The VM does not have access to the physical CD for whatever reason.

Try this: