Faulty iPad Screen (No, not backlighting)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mmoosa, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. RossMc macrumors 65816

    RossMc

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
  2. mmoosa thread starter macrumors 6502

    mmoosa

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Done that but still does it, I'll try it once more and see what happens
     
  3. kvizzel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #4
    why haven't you gone to apple and got a new one?

    apple will SURELY replace it.

    unless you dropped it, and there visual damage then it's chance.
     
  4. OCJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    #5
    I agree. This unit obviously did not come out of the box that way (you can see a group with apps in it in the video), so I have to assume it was dropped or incurred some other external interaction to cause this.

    Regardless, I think if it shows no physical damage, Apple will replace it.

    -J
     
  5. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    I'm not convinced that's faulty.

    That just looks like a software glitch which will vanish after a restart.
     
  6. Cole JM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #7
    Mine does this too. I'm gonna take it in when i get my iMac. Caame out of the box that way.
     
  7. robbyneal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
  8. Cole JM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #9
    I just restarted. And still happening. Its fine for a while.
     
  9. kvizzel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
  10. Cole JM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #11
    Nope
     
  11. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #12
    Mine did it for a bit then stopped.

    If It keeps happening then take it back but wait a few weeks. There is no rush and it's much less frustrating to go in and come out with a replacement than be told to return in 2 weeks as they have none!
     
  12. mmoosa thread starter macrumors 6502

    mmoosa

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    LOL

    You think i'll say its a fault if i had dropped it?

    Anyway, it doesn't bug me. just wanted to know if it was a wide spread problem, I have another one which doesn't do it.

    And its been restored twice now, and still does it.

    Oh well.
     
  13. Blakjack macrumors 68000

    Blakjack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #14
    Why did it have to incurr some external interaction?!! Maybe its just a faulty iPAd that seemed to have worked fine in the beginnig but eventually showed its ugly side. I mean...at the end of the day, it is a computer.
     
  14. peaceActivist macrumors regular

    peaceActivist

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #15
    LMAO, i can replicate this on an iPod Touch! Know how? Pull half of the ribbon cable connector from the PCB to the screen and VOILA! But seriously though, its more than likely that ribbon cable got loose and may need to be reconnected...thats a job for Apple Store!
     

Share This Page