FCE Help [general]

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jjonak, Sep 5, 2011.

1. jjonak macrumors newbie

Hi all!

It seems like there are some super knowledgeable people on here in FCE/FCP. I'm new to working with FCE and video in general and need some very basic help. Sorry if these are silly questions but I greatly appreciate your patience! :)

I'm working with a new project off of video that I imported into my computer a year ago (through iMovie...). It was off of a DV camera using Mini DV tapes but apart from that I don't know much more. And I think that's the issue. I want to make sure the movies I'm creating in FCE are of the highest possible quality from my videos but seeing as I don't know any of the specs about them...it's hard to set the proper project settings.

How can I find out about the specs of my videos and then using that information, create relevant project properties in my FCE project?

I'm looking to export HD quality youtube videos in the end, nothing to DVD, and need to be able to throw in text/graphics without them looking blurry.

Thank you for any information! :)

2. cgbier macrumors 6502a

Open the clips in QT. Pressing CMD+I will tell you resolution, as well as frame rate.
    If you don't import from the camera, you don't have to set the Easy Setup. Just drag a clip to the timeline and FCE will ask you if you want to set the timeline to the clip properties.

3. jjonak thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you - the trick in quicktime worked flawlessly. :)

So now my question is this: Can I affect the quality of my video in FCE when I drag it into the project?

The clips always appear to be in decent but slightly fuzzy, not sharp, format. On top of that, often the text that I create in FCE looks fuzzy upon export. Are these two separate issues? Is there anything I can do to raise the quality of my video or is that something that was done while recording/importing?