Fce V4 And Panasonic Hdcsd 20

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Pete Beggan, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. Pete Beggan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have just up graded to the panasonic HDC SD20 video camera. I can transfer the files from the camera to imovie fine, however as I have been using FCE for the last year I want to import the files to this. I have FCE 4 so there should be no problem, however i can not locate the camera in the easy set up. Do i need a fire wire and if yes has anybody bought one for this camera.

    Pete
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What format does the camera use? Is it tape, or flash memory?
     
  3. Pete Beggan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    The camera uses Sd card,so flash memory i suppose
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    In that case, you should just be able to import the files into FCE, or drop them into the project browser in the top left window.
     
  5. Pete Beggan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #5
    But when i turn on FCE i should choose the format? Because if I chose capture media it can not locate the video devise. I am connecting using the supplied USB cable. This cable works with imovie
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  7. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #7
    You should not be using capture but instead Log and Transfer which is found in the same menu.

    Worst case scenario import them using iMovie then import them into FCE from the imove events folder.

    Both of these should hopefully work.
     

Share This Page