FCE4 - fullsize clip to zoom down to corner clip

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mary H, May 4, 2009.

1. Mary H macrumors regular

I am new at using FCE4 (2 days) so am still trying to figure out what to call what I want to do and the online manual is too huge to browse while I am trying to figure it out.

:confused: I have a video clip that I want to have start out as fullscreen but then I want it to shrink down to be superimposed in the upper corner of another video clip.

:confused: I also want to take a shape (a star) and make it appear as if the star is coming out of the night sky with the video clip transition out of the star. I have the transition, I just want to know if I can do the zoom thing coming out of a spot on the previous frame.

I know I need to get an actual physical book but don't have it yet? Are there any recommendations for a good one?

Thanks, Mary

2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

puckhead193

once the clip is on the timeline double click it and it will appear on the viewer on the left. (canvas?) there should be a tab with i think its the middle one in which you will find attribes for scale etc.

recommendations for books

3. RatVega macrumors member

You may need to read some, but I like aggressive learners... ;)

For the first question, You need to have the starting clip on V2 over the destination clip (on V1) when you begin to scale down and steer the V2 clip using either the controls in the Motion Tab of Viewer or using the mouse on the Canvas while in Image+Wireframe mode, setting keyframes at the beginning and end of the effect. The duration of the effect is determined by the time between the keyframes. Working in Canvas is fast but not as precise or repeatable as working in the Motion Tab of Viewer.