FCE4, Mavericks, and old DV camera

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mccjim12, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. mccjim12, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014

    mccjim12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    #1
    Looking for some help with a capture problem here...

    I am running Final Cut Express 4 on a mid 2012 MacBook Pro that is running 10.9.4.

    I am trying to capture from a Canon ZR60 via the computer's Firewire 800 port using a Firewire 800 cable connected to a 6 pin adapter that came with it and a 4 pin (iLink DV) adapter, which in turn connects to the camera.

    I know 2 adapters is kind of ridiculous but it is what I had at my disposal and I saw no reason why it shouldn't work. But I am kind of a dinosaur with Final Cut. I have not used anything higher than FCP5. So I figured I would reach out.

    FCE (and the computer as a whole) will not recognize the camera as connected. I have checked all settings in FCE easy setup. System Profiler does not see it and FCE says no Firewire capture device is found.

    Is it just not possible since I have a (relatively) new computer and an old camera? Maybe the camera does not support Firewire 800?

    My backup plan is to capture using my PowerBook G4 which of course has a Firewire 400 port. But that would require ordering a new power supply which is not ideal!

    Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    I have had a ton of trouble on a variety of machines when I've tried to capture from an DV device (even HDV devices too) using FW800. I just stopped trying and, at an old job, we had one tower that had FW400 and we captured everything on that machine.
     
  3. mccjim12 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    #3
    Much appreciated. Yeah, I think I might just go that route at this point.
     
  4. ColdCase, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    I am able to capture from cannon HD DVT cameras via FW 800 to a recent rMBP but typically go back to my old MacPro setup.

    I use a mini to "normal" FW cable and a 400 to 800 FW cable, a old FW400 enclosure, and a FW to TB adapter. I didn't get there by design, just thats is what I happen to have in the junk box :)

    The mini connector plugs into the camera, the other end into an old FW 400 drive enclosure. I connect the FW 400/800 cable between the drive enclosure and TB adapter and plug the adapter into my early 2014 rMBP (which runs 10.9.5).
     
  5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #5
    You should have iMovie on your Mac. Does that recognise the camcorder?
     

Share This Page