FCP on a MBP????

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by xtopher, May 23, 2007.

  1. xtopher macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #1
    ok so i bought a high end mbp and my friend bought a low end one and he cant get final cut to work on it. something about needing a agp graphics card. can i install it? is he doing something wrong? should i buy it???? HELP!!!!! hahaha thanks in advance guys and gals.
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    is this a legal version.... Did your friend take your copy of FCP and try to install it on his computer...
     
  3. xtopher thread starter macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #3
    well his is not legal but i plan on buying it... i dont have it yet
     
  4. JohnMC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    #4
    Is this copy of FCP version 5 or version 5.1? Version 5.0 is not universal so it will not work on a MBP. If it is Version 5.1 the first thing I would try is Software Update, download all the ProApp updates and FCP updates. If that does not work, delete the FCP preference file and then reboot the computer.

    JohnMC
     
  5. xtopher thread starter macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #5
    its 4.5 but i plan on actually buying the new one. should it work for me?
     
  6. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #6
    FCP 5.1 and later was written to work on IntelMacs, so yes, it should work perfectly fine on a MacBook Pro. Older versions of FCP will not.

    -DH
     
  7. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
  8. seo2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #8
    i'm running FCP fine on my macbook. the problem you might be having is if you are trying to install the entire Final Cut Studio, including things like motion, which will not run on the graphics card in a macbook. if you customise the install and just install FCP you should be fine.

    as for running it on a macbook pro you should have no problem installing the entire Final Cut Studio, it's what the Macbook Pro was designed for.
     
  9. xtopher thread starter macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #9
    i really dont want to spend that much money on something im not going to use that much is there a trial i can download for it?
     
  10. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #10
    I run FCP 5.1 on my Core 2 Duo MBP and it runs beautifully. And yes, it is a legal version haha.
     
  11. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #11
    nope no trial... FCP is really something you NEED or don't. If you don't have a distinct need for it, then you'll be fine with Final Cut Express. What you need to do is find what lacks in iMovie that you will use and then find what product fills that gap.
     
  12. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #12
    Well said :) I moved from iMovie to Final Cut Express. After using that for awhile, I then got more advanced in my editing and finally made the move to Final Cut Studio 5.1. As bigbossbmb said, try to asses what you think you will be doing down the road and buy what you think you will eventually need. If you don't need motion, soundtrack pro, additional editing capabilities, etc. then save the $1,000.
     
  13. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #13
    Or get it cheap on eBay and save yourself some money that way :).
     
  14. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #14
    How did you know that is where I got mine ;)
     
  15. xtopher thread starter macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #15
    i just really need it for digitizing my movies so i can return my camera to school and edit on the machines in the editing room rather than digitizing them there too. this way i have my movie on my HDD
     
  16. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  17. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #17
    Use iMovie then. FCP is mucho overkill for your needs.
     

Share This Page