FCP X can't import AVI's???

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by richpjr, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #1
    I have been messing around with iMovie and decided I wanted something more powerful and bought a copy of FCPX last night. I had been messing around with some AVI files I had from around 8 years ago and noticed I cannot import them into FCPX - but they import just fine into iMovie. Seems kind of strange that the entry level program can do something that the higher end program can't.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Again, what codec do those .avi files use? .avi is not a container well known for being used in editing applications, maybe except Premiere (I had .avi files using the DV codec back in 1999 and Premiere 5 or so).

    In order to find out, what may be wrong with your video, you can use the following three applications to analyse a sample video file.
    When done, you can use the "Report" (VideoSpec) and "Export" (Media Inspector) button to export a report,
    attachable to your next post via the [​IMG] button.
    In MediaInfo you have to go to the Menu Bar, select View > Text and copy the text via CMD+A > CMD+C and paste it via CMD+V into your next post.

    Video Compression
    Why It Matters & How To Make The Most Of It


    Anyway, maybe try MPEG Streamclip to transcode the .avi files via CMD+B to QuickTime files using the Apple Intermediate Codec or ProRes codec and Uncompressed sound.

    Need more?
     
  4. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #4
    sim on the nose with MPEG StreamClip.

    I have some AVIs as far back as 1994 that worked fine to date.
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    When I edited 2 films 2011-2012 on Final Cut Pro X there wasn't .avi compatibility. Here's what I did:

    Get Compressor 4

    Highlight all your avi files and drag them all together into Compressor's window where you add targets.

    Set your settings the way you want them. (Audio passthru typically included) This is easiest by having a "default setting" for any file you drag into the target window, that way they will all be set properly together. 1080p h.264 high-best quality automatic is usually what I use OR ProRes 422 (HQ), or just regular ProRes.

    Have them all set to the appropriate destination (a folder preferably)

    Submit. It will go through and finish each of them all automated.
     

Share This Page