FCP X Question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by apost90, Aug 17, 2016.

1. apost90 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone, first time poster here.

I'm a filmmaker that has used FCP since high school but I've never done intense grading with it (just minor adjustments). I'm currently in the process of upgrading my system to a Mac Pro to be able to handle the 4K workflow my DP shoots in. He does the color grading on Resolve, which is a great program from grading but I don't like it as much as an NLE.

My question is, does FCP X's grading system work well enough to avoid having to buy/learn Resolve for my grading? I know that there's a free version of Resolve available, but I've read that you can't export anything above 2K out of there and back into FCP with the grade intact (if I'm wrong about that please chime in). I would prefer to keep everything in house with FCP X, but I am looking to up my grading skills and Resolve is a great software for doing so. Any suggestions?

2. Chung123, Aug 17, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2016

Chung123 macrumors regular

Chung123

Final Cut Pro X has a color correction tools built in, but you can also look at something like Color Finale www.colorgradingcentral.com that allows you to apply LUTs and do all kinds of magic to your footage. You can also look at the products from Red Giant. Color Finale has a demo available so you can try and see if it works for you.

3. apost90 thread starter macrumors newbie

Do you feel that FCP X has a good enough grading system that I can do my coloring on it and bypass purchasing Davinci Resolve?

4. Chung123 macrumors regular

Chung123

Unfortunately as an enthusiast.. I can't answer that. I do know that Color Finale is pretty darn powerful for what it is. You might get some better answers here: http://www.fcp.co/forum/index That is a great Final Cut Pro resource.

5. apost90 thread starter macrumors newbie