FCP X: Which Frame Sizes?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Infrared, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #1
    Which frame sizes does FCP X support for:

    (a) Ingested material.
    (b) Edited material (formerly "sequences").

    I sometimes edit screen captures, and these can
    be 1680x1050px, which is 16:10 rather than 16:9.

    My concern is that FCP X wouldn't be able to import
    and work with that material.
     
  2. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #2
    Not good news, I can't find any way to set a custom frame size.

    I've brought in still images in different sizes, but from what I can see you can only choose preset "normal" sizes for projects.

    Even if you ask it to set the Project properties based on the first clip, it'll choose the best choice out of the default options.
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    FCP X limits you to standard TV rasters. Setting custom frame sizes is not an available.


    Lethal
     
  4. Infrared thread starter macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    Well, that's disappointing, but not entirely surprising.

    It almost seems as though FCP X doesn't use Quicktime at all.
    In FCP 7, whether you were importing, editing or exporting, you
    could choose from the entire array of Quicktime codecs on the
    system. And, as you know, custom frame sizes could be set in
    the sequence settings.
     
  5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I don't think it is. At least no the QT we've come to know and love. The old QT code (the stuff from the 90's that's been the underlying video 'framework' for all of Apple's products) is being totally replaced with a new framework called AV Foundation. It's still in a rough transition phase from the old QT code to the new (hence why we have both QT 7 and QT X) though Lion is all based on AV Foundation. So, for example, QT X should become more functional in Lion as opposed to now where it's basically just a lame viewer app.

    I think the limitations in exporting and the lack of being able to set custom sequence sizes are just limitations imposed by Apple though.


    Lethal
     

Share This Page