FCP7: HD output: video is smaller and black bars on all sides?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by randy0242, Jun 29, 2010.

1. randy0242 macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie to FCP, so this may be a pretty easy fix and I have done some research. Any advice/help will be greatly appreciated. :D

So I have 2 MP4 files that are 1080p and 1080i. The original files are both letterboxed. When I play the original files seperatly there are only black bars at the top and bottom. So, I drag them into my new project and add them to the timeline, edit, add transitions, etc...When I go to export the sequence using QT conversion, I click on the Size heading and change it to HD 1280X720 and 16:9. The output of the movie when played on a 1080p screen has black bars on all sides, the actual video area has shrunk. I have tried this using the HD 1920X1080 16:9 option as well - the video area is even smaller and there are black bars on all sides also.

Any ideas what to check/change to make the output of the sequence 1080p? It's fine to keep the letterbox bars on the top and bottom.

Please help!!
    Thanks!!

Randy

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Can you post your clip, sequence and export settings in detail?

Have you converted the .mp4 files to a .mov using the Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) or ProRes codec before importing them into FCP?

3. randy0242 thread starter macrumors newbie

I did not convert them to .mov files, I just dragged and dropped them into the Project window from Finder.

.mp4 file #1: 1920X1080, 24fps, H.264, Square pixel aspect
    .mp4 file #2: 1920X1080, 30fps, H.264, Square pixel aspect
    Sequence: 1920X1080, 29.97fps, HDV 1080p 30, HDV 1440X1080 pixel aspect, anamorphic

When I export using QT conversion, I set the following:
    Settings: H.264, FR=current, Key frame=30 frames, frame reordering is checked and restrict data rate to 1800 kbs
    Size: Dimensions=1280X720 16:9 and deinterlace source video is checked