FCPX & Motion unavailable from App Store after clean install

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
I have a MacBook Air 1.86GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 2Gb RAM, not the fastest portable I grant you. Previously I had Final Cut Pro X and Motion installed and running happily.

Today I did a clean install of Mavericks and now the App Store will not allow me to download the software I purchased as I don't have 4Gb of RAM.

I haven't used FCPX much but I do use Motion a lot. Anyone got any ideas as to how I can get at least Motion running on my Mac again?
 

koban4max

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2011
1,582
0
I have a MacBook Air 1.86GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 2Gb RAM, not the fastest portable I grant you. Previously I had Final Cut Pro X and Motion installed and running happily.

Today I did a clean install of Mavericks and now the App Store will not allow me to download the software I purchased as I don't have 4Gb of RAM.

I haven't used FCPX much but I do use Motion a lot. Anyone got any ideas as to how I can get at least Motion running on my Mac again?
just sign into your MAS account.
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
By MAS do you mean the Mac App Store?

I am signed in to the App Store, I'm looking at my purchases and I can download all the rest of the software but not FCPX or Motion. When I click to install them I get a message saying I need 4Gb RAM to use them.

I have had FCPX and Motion installed and working on my machine since their release but Apple seem to have changed the specs so I can no longer use the software I paid for.

I have given feedback about FCPX via the Apple website but they state that they can't respond. Any ideas how else I can resolve this?
 
Comment

koban4max

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2011
1,582
0
By MAS do you mean the Mac App Store?

I am signed in to the App Store, I'm looking at my purchases and I can download all the rest of the software but not FCPX or Motion. When I click to install them I get a message saying I need 4Gb RAM to use them.

I have had FCPX and Motion installed and working on my machine since their release but Apple seem to have changed the specs so I can no longer use the software I paid for.

I have given feedback about FCPX via the Apple website but they state that they can't respond. Any ideas how else I can resolve this?
out of hard space?
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
out of hard space?
No. It was a clean reinstall so there's nearly 200Gb free.

Apparently the issue is that Apple released an update of FCPX to coincide with the launch of the Mac Pro. When they did this they increased the minimum RAM requirement to 4Gb. My MBA only has 2Gb so I can no longer use the software.

I gave feedback to Apple and hopefully if enough people do Apple may allow users to download the previous compatible version from the App Store until then I'm stuffed. :mad:

It is a stupid situation but there's no way around it. I might be able to reinstall FCPX if I downgraded to Mountain Lion but I can't be bothered and more importantly shouldn't have to.
 
Comment

koban4max

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2011
1,582
0
By MAS do you mean the Mac App Store?

I am signed in to the App Store, I'm looking at my purchases and I can download all the rest of the software but not FCPX or Motion. When I click to install them I get a message saying I need 4Gb RAM to use them.

I have had FCPX and Motion installed and working on my machine since their release but Apple seem to have changed the specs so I can no longer use the software I paid for.

I have given feedback about FCPX via the Apple website but they state that they can't respond. Any ideas how else I can resolve this?
you may be right about spec change....go to official site..and see what the specs are..

----------

No. It was a clean reinstall so there's nearly 200Gb free.

Apparently the issue is that Apple released an update of FCPX to coincide with the launch of the Mac Pro. When they did this they increased the minimum RAM requirement to 4Gb. My MBA only has 2Gb so I can no longer use the software.

I gave feedback to Apple and hopefully if enough people do Apple may allow users to download the previous compatible version from the App Store until then I'm stuffed. :mad:

It is a stupid situation but there's no way around it. I might be able to reinstall FCPX if I downgraded to Mountain Lion but I can't be bothered and more importantly shouldn't have to.
did you backup via TM before upgrade? if so..yeah..like you said ..just revert back to previous version.

----------

No. It was a clean reinstall so there's nearly 200Gb free.

Apparently the issue is that Apple released an update of FCPX to coincide with the launch of the Mac Pro. When they did this they increased the minimum RAM requirement to 4Gb. My MBA only has 2Gb so I can no longer use the software.

I gave feedback to Apple and hopefully if enough people do Apple may allow users to download the previous compatible version from the App Store until then I'm stuffed. :mad:

It is a stupid situation but there's no way around it. I might be able to reinstall FCPX if I downgraded to Mountain Lion but I can't be bothered and more importantly shouldn't have to.
i'm wondering if you can upgrade ram..in your mba...
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
you may be right about spec change....go to official site..and see what the specs are..
Yeah I did. It now lists 4Gb.

did you backup via TM before upgrade? if so..yeah..like you said ..just revert back to previous version.


Nope. I foolishly believed the App Store meant that I didn't need to back up Apple Apps.

i'm wondering if you can upgrade ram..in your mba...
Nope. My model (Late 2010) is not upgradeable.
 
Comment

koban4max

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2011
1,582
0
Yeah I did. It now lists 4Gb.



Nope. I foolishly believed the App Store meant that I didn't need to back up Apple Apps.



Nope. My model (Late 2010) is not upgradeable.
can you go back to previous version?
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
LOL! Not really an option right now.

Maybe Apple will see sense. If I wasn't so invested in Apple this would be enough to make me consider switching away.
 
Comment

koban4max

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2011
1,582
0
LOL! Not really an option right now.

Maybe Apple will see sense. If I wasn't so invested in Apple this would be enough to make me consider switching away.
i guess it's the hard way then...reinstall everything.
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
Unfortunately there is no guarantee that a clean install of Lion or Mountain Lion will resolve the issue. If the App Store only offer the latest releases of each App then I will end up in the same situation having wasted even more time.

I will hold out hope that Apple will address this. While I understand that there probably aren't many MacBook Air users that run FCPX or Motion it seems unfair to stop them accessing the software that they have paid for. Especially as it has always worked surprisingly well for small projects in the past.
 
Comment

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
8,089
4
Sol III - Terra
Unfortunately there is no guarantee that a clean install of Lion or Mountain Lion will resolve the issue. If the App Store only offer the latest releases of each App then I will end up in the same situation having wasted even more time.
...
The current version of FCP requires 10.9 - that means on 10.8 you would get the previous version. The question becomes... what were the RAM requirements for that version?
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
The current version of FCP requires 10.9 - that means on 10.8 you would get the previous version. The question becomes... what were the RAM requirements for that version?
It used to be minimum 2Gb RAM so my Mac just squeaked in there. I know that it worked on my Mac with 10.9 installed as it was running fine prior to my reinstall.

Has anyone installed FCPX on 10.8 recently? I wonder if you wouldn't just get a message telling you that you have to upgrade to 10.9 to install it.

If that's not the case and you are correct then it gives some hope that Apple just need to update the App Store to serve the last compatible version for the system configuration of each machine. In which case it gives me hope that it was just an oversight as it's probably not a common configuration for this software.
 
Comment

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
8,089
4
Sol III - Terra
...
Has anyone installed FCPX on 10.8 recently? I wonder if you wouldn't just get a message telling you that you have to upgrade to 10.9 to install it.
...
For Aperture, Pages and Numbers, I know that under 10.8 you will get the last version compatible for 10.8 now even though the current version is for 10.9. Considering when Apple made the change to allow that to happen, FCP should be working the same way for downloads.

Nope. I foolishly believed the App Store meant that I didn't need to back up Apple Apps.
I have always backed up everything. It's faster to restore an app from disk instead of the time needed to download it. Also, with everything backed up, I know that when Time Machine is finished restoring, I'm good to go, no need to wait for downloads.
 
Comment

ianw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2014
10
0
For Aperture, Pages and Numbers, I know that under 10.8 you will get the last version compatible for 10.8 now even though the current version is for 10.9. Considering when Apple made the change to allow that to happen, FCP should be working the same way for downloads.
Thanks for that. I have since found a solution by acquiring the previous versions but hopefully this will be helpful to anyone else that stumbles upon this thread.

I have always backed up everything. It's faster to restore an app from disk instead of the time needed to download it. Also, with everything backed up, I know that when Time Machine is finished restoring, I'm good to go, no need to wait for downloads.
I am fortunate to have incredibly fast internet access so the time difference in copying the app to an external drive and back on versus downloading it is not enough to worry about. Plus I like a clean install as it gives me a chance to get rid of the things I don't use. I just backup my files, copy back what I need and archive the rest. The machine always seems so much faster afterwards too, although that may be psychosomatic.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.