FCPX rendering help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by will waters, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. will waters macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #1
    Hi
    I have final cut pro X on 2 machines, a laptop (which is not meant to be compatible with FCPX) and one of the latest most powerful iMacs, apple say that you can use both to render a project or similar, so how do you do this? i have them bot on the same network, what else do i need to do?

    Any advice would be really useful as my laptop is struggling, which is what i use for some ( as it is portable)

    Thanks:)
     
  2. bluap84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    dont quote me on this, but i dont think its for rendering. I have only noticed that you can share the exporting. havent really looked into it to be fair, as i only have the one comp
     
  3. OSMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #3
    You can transfer the project and events between machines,
    not aware of being able to distribute the rendering across multiple machines.

    If you want to use the laptop ,
    maybe doing a remote session to your desktop assuming your at home
    would be better than running FCPx on the slower laptop?

    Just a question, is FCPx crashing on you?

    I had numerous beachball hangs/crashes and worst of all auto save has failed more than once.
    Actually really like the program for my uses otherwise.
     
  4. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #4
    Are you wanting to let the iMac do the rendering? you can move/copy your project and event to another system. simplest way is to make sure you start the event/project on an external drive. but its possible if you didnt. there's a few tutorials out there on this subject. one I think is at www.fcp.co

    Good luck!
     
  5. OSMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #5
    mbox - do you mean just unplugging the external drive and moving it to the other machine. is it as simple as that was thinking of getting a 1TB self powered drive if it is?
     
  6. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #6
    Yes it is.
    Im using a few G-Tech mini for numerous projects.
    Funny cause FCPX is starting to act like Avid media databases.
    I hated that on the Avid side and now FCPX is doing it too.
    Oh well hard-drives are so cheap.
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Yea this one puzzles me cause it hasnt happened to me yet. Im using it on a 2009 Uni 17" MBP and a few MP 12 cores.
    I do have it on a MP 2008 box but I dont have a clone of me to test this week :(
     
  8. will waters thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #8
    yes final cut does crab a fair bit, i am sure it will be fixed with a later release
     
  9. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #9
    The only issue I had so far was FCP7 itself was acting up. I read about the problems and didnt see it for weeks till I installed FCX3 on a new MP along with FCPX on top.
    Just audio hiccups nothing drastic.
    So far 3 systems have both apps running fine (except for that audio hiccup one).
     

Share This Page