FCPX takes FOREVER to load Projects Library

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by kepardue, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. kepardue macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #1
    I have 78 video projects in the Project Library. Final Cut Pro seems to have to load and render each project individually before it displays the mini timeline. is there any way to turn this off and browse only by Project Name, because this makes it take anywhere from 5-18 minutes to move from one project to another!
     
  2. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #2
    i gave up on fcpx, its a pile of crap, couldnt even export 3 basic movies taken from a blackberry, majorly dissapointed in an app that costs this much!! im actually using motion 5 which is a million times better..
     
  3. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #3
    Motion instead of FCPX?
    Dude do you even know what you are talking about?
     
  4. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    Create Disk Images and copy your projects into them. You just mount the Images of the projects you need before you start up FCP. It's loading pretty fast then.
     
  5. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    78 projects can be a pain no matter what app.
    cgbier is bang on and if thats too hard, just move the projects out of your main folder temp till you need them.
    There are a few tips out there that deal with this.
    I for one cant stand most apps project dealings.
    Worse is Avid.
    You cant open multiple projects so you have to import the BIN.
    PIA!
     
  6. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #6
    yes i do, for now motion with imovie functions better for me than fcpx i also have after effects but havent used it much, all i was trying to say is that the current state of fcpx is a joke, to export movies is nearly impossible at least for me. too many bugs and stuff although i havent used it since the 10.2 update...
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Okay so you know for sure that FCPX and Motion are not the same type of apps. I got that since you mentioned Motion along with AE.
    There is enough negativity going around about FCPX dont need to add to it.
    Using Motion as your final file output isnt ludicrous cause some have done it using AE as well, but honestly they are not NLE and dont ever walk into a studio claiming that :)
     
  8. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    i really want to use final cut i really do, used fc7 for ages, then when presented with a new upgrade i loved it, the look and all, then when i try to edit a simple mobile phone movie, it doesnt work to export? it corrupts halfway through when exporting and thats if it even gets to export, all im saying is fcpx seems to be lacking alot these days and theres alot you can do in motion and imovie and after affects that if your not james cameron you could create a class movie project..
     
  9. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #9
    Event the simplest of projects can make any app fail.
    First you have to ask yourself, what format works with FCPX?
    Some of the mobile phones formats dont play nice with any NLE.
    Usually need a supplied app from the vendor e.g. RIM BlackBerry software.
    Then convert to your liking.
    This is common from hobbyists to professionals.
    Not all formats work across every app out there.
    You have to roll your sleeves and break a sweat at times ;)
     
  10. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #10
    yeah my problem was that it was exactly the same movie file that i used in fcp7 which worked flawlessly the thing is in fcpx it would work perfectly when editing on and even in preview however when it came to exporting to any format it would just mess up, the video image would overlap other video images and not play or it would just come up with some stupid error message that i have since long forgot..
     
  11. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #11
    This case came up numerous times online e.g. CreativeCow, Apple Support and even fcp.co.
    Check if you have the lastest in OS X, QT (such as the Pro downloads) and FCPX.
    Ive had no problems with SL 10.6.8 and FCPX 10.0.2.
    But prior tons of problems (10.0.0 and .1).
    I guess its a trade off.
    FCP legacy = deal with QT Gamma issues
    FCPX = deal with all QT issues ;)
    LOL!
     
  12. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #12
    this sounds promising as im on SL too, il have to crack on with it and see what happens..
     
  13. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #13
    Ive been using FCPX since the release. Had to learn it fast for a course I teach at local college (evenings).
    Since Im a die hard Avid MC and FCP legacy user I thought for sure Id be pulling teeth.
    I went into learning the app to get positives out of it.
    There was so much net negatives that actually helped me.
    I used all the shortcomings of FCPX as fillers in my classes.
    Helped the students since most are not working with old tape machines and have no idea what an NLE is.
    FCPX is just another pencil ;)
     
  14. hsilver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #14
  15. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #15
    ...and the amazing thing is that Motion and FCP X share the same export engine.
     
  16. Boe11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #16
    It sounds to me like you've spent enough time using FCP X to warrant a highly credible opinion. What a pile of crap program!!11!
     
  17. salacious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #17
    iv gone back to using final cut pro 7, not as nice looking, but does its job well..
     

Share This Page