FCS 2 - The Right Tools For The Job? - Newbie Needing Help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Wheetman, Aug 11, 2007.

1. Wheetman macrumors member

Hiya all,

I'm about to make the jump across the big divide. Never having used an Apple Mac before I need to ask for some help.

I am an enthusiastic photographer/videographer who has finally got fed up with MS. I am moving over to Mac come the release of OSX 10.5 in October. I want to run FCS 2 Suite on both Pro and MBP, but have no idea about what will be the best hardware setup for my needs.

Re: MBP, I am thinking 17", 4 Gig, High Def, Matte. I guess I need the 7200rpm hard drive, but would have preferred more capacity. I am interested to know how FCS 2 will run on such a unit. Especially given that is such a high capacity installation. Do I need to install all the apps or can I just install say the FCP for editing and then do the rest on my mac pro, or does the suite require that all the apps be loaded at the same time.