Feasible for me to get Apple Certification?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by DoFoT9, May 8, 2008.

1. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

Hello everyone,

I'll just start by saying that I am a 1st year university student. I live in Australia and I am doing a Bachelor of Information Technology (BIT haha).

I am looking to major in Networking and Security, and I am extremely interested in maintaining networks/ system administration. Our Uni is completely PC orientated, so there is no chance for me to go into being a Mac system admin, which I think would be really handy for me in the future.

So my question.

Would it be a good idea for me to get accredited for the Apple certificates? I would do the "Support Professional" first clearly, and then work my way up.

I think that it would be extremely useful in the future, and give me an upper hand over other Uni graduates that do not have that accreditation.

Thank you in advance for whoever reads this,

DoFoT9

2. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

Gray-Wolf

If you plan to work around Mac computers in a career, then yes it is a good idea. Also to consider is the cost. It is a little costly here in the states, but the goal can make it worth while.

3. DoFoT9 thread starter macrumors P6

DoFoT9

I would really like to work around Macs. I feel like its just the 'normal' for me, however I can still use PC's extremely confidently.

I'm sure my parents might help chip in a bit if they knew it was for my career.

Thanks for your input, :)

4. scotthayes macrumors 68000

scotthayes

To be honest, the Apple certification isn't hugely sought after in the IT support world.

If you are looking at going down the networking and security route then I would start by looking at the Cisco certification for the networking side.

Plus I'd look at getting some Microsoft certifications. People may laugh at Vista but more and more companies are taking it on, so get an Microsoft IT Pro certification in it.