Features Users New to MBA like best

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lockerc18, Jul 1, 2012.

1. lockerc18, Jul 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012

lockerc18 macrumors 6502

I'm a little surprised that a thread like this hasn't been started yet. I'm a PC user from day 1, and I mean that literally. I've never used a MacBook of any type before I got my MBA 13" (i7 2.0 / 8 / 256). I got it because I needed a new laptop. I hated Vista. I like Windows 7, but can't imagine moving to Windows 8. I also have an iPad3, which I really love for the things it does. But it isn't a real laptop replacement. So, I got a new 2012 MBA. And I have to admit, I couldn't be happier.

Yes, the price is high compared to PC Ultrabooks. But you get what you pay for in this world. Now that I've been using this system for almost a week, I think I've gotten past most of the learning curve of moving to Mac from Windows. What I've found is that the Mac is really an easy system to transition to, and in general is a very easy system to use.

I mentioned in another post that I was disappointed in the LG display on my system. I installed the MacRumors config file, and that has fixed any washing out problems with this display. It is now very sharp, and the text is really clear. Honestly, it's so close to Retina that it's hard to tell the difference.

I set up my wireless Brother printer by clicking on it in the "add printer" dialog. That was it, no drivers to install, nothing else to do. Worked like a charm. Easy.

I installed Firefox, which I've used since it was Mosaic. Remember that? It was the original browser, which turned into Netscape, and then into Mozilla / Firefox. So, I like it, and I'm very used to it. It works especially well on OS/X, and for me, it's the last browser I'll every use. I wish it was supported on IOS.