Fetching when trying to use "open with..." (SOLVED)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by DJEmergency, Feb 9, 2015.

  1. DJEmergency, Feb 9, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015

    DJEmergency macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    #1
    Has anyone ran into this problem and know how to solve it?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DJEmergency thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    #2
    Fixed it. I went into terminal and put this in:

    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -seed -r -f -v -domain local -domain user -domain system
    Problem solved!
     
  3. F-bone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
  4. Tatsh macrumors member

    Tatsh

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #4
    Had this issue on El Capitan after upgrading.

    You can run /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister so you are not specifying a version (in case Apple creates and starts using version B).
     
  5. scottjf8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    #5
    Doesn't work on my Retina iMac 27 with EC... I hit enter and get the options help thing, like it wants additional input.

    Scotts-Retina-iMac:~ Scott$ /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister

    lsregister: [OPTIONS] [ <path>... ]

    [ -apps <domain>[,domain]... ]

    [ -libs <domain>[,domain]... ]

    [ -all <domain>[,domain]... ]
     
  6. AdamUllstrom macrumors newbie

    AdamUllstrom

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    #6

    That is awesome, I have had this problem for too long. It really cleaned up everything. I dont have multiple version any more.

    THANKS!
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Thanks for our tip, excellent! I'm still having issues with .mp4/jpg files, mind to fix that for me to? TIA

    Cheers
     
  8. AdamUllstrom macrumors newbie

    AdamUllstrom

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    #8
    In what way are you having issues? :)
     
  9. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    That when using "open with" some old versions will appear in the list. I have many apps of which I keep older versions as a backup strategy. Perhaps it's better to move them all to a external drive and then disconnect it from my Mac. Do you agree?

    Cheers
    --- Post Merged, Oct 13, 2016 ---
    RESOLVED it with this action! Thanks.

    Cheers
     
  10. AdamUllstrom macrumors newbie

    AdamUllstrom

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    #10
    Great!

    I was just going to ask if you have restarted the mac. I had the same problem with a lot of backup apps in my timemachine and carbon copy cloner backup (which is alway online/ mounted to my machine.

    After I ran the terminal command and restarted, it was fixed ! :)

    Great everything worked out for you. :)
     
  11. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Thanks man!

    Indeed I did not reboot, so that's what I'll do at an instance... :rolleyes:

    Cheeers
     
  12. johanhenriksson macrumors newbie

    johanhenriksson

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    #12
    This solved it for me on Sierra! Had this problem for too long. Thanks!
     
  13. ChrisBiele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #13
    I just experienced this fetching issue on 10.11.6 El Capitan. Entering the Terminal command worked like a charm! It ran quite a few lines of code and finished after about 15-20 seconds. All good now, thanks.
     
  14. T Coma macrumors regular

    T Coma

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Location:
    People's Republic of Chicago
    #14
    Very helpful, thanks.
     
  15. dexum175 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    Im on macOS Sierra(10.12.4) and this worked instantly thank you.

    " /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -seed -r -f -v -domain local -domain user -domain system "
     
  16. JPDemersNY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    YES! Excellent! Works for latest OS as of July 2017 Sierra 10.12.5
     

Share This Page