Few questions about iMac ( please check )

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Babba, Aug 10, 2008.

1. Babba macrumors member

Hello all, lets go directly to my questions :p

1) I'm moving my house in 2 weeks. So i was thinking of buying a new computer but no PC. So i decided to go for an iMac. Mac pro's are way expensive for me.( in my country, apple products are twice expensive than us )
    So i decided to buy an imac 2.8.
    Is Imac 2.8 using core 2 duo extreme cpu? it doesnt say extreme on my local apple store's website not the guy in apple store know anyhthing about it..
    I asked if it's extreme or not and he said no its core 2 duo...:)
    does all imac 2.8 has extreme cpu ?

2) I read forums about imac and some people say that imac's has some screen problems...i'm a graphics designer/3d modeller so screen might be important for me...

3) Would you prefer to buy a macbook pro 2.5 instead of imac 2.8? ( does macbook pro's has some internal problems also..the things with the gpu?)

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

1) Yes the 2.8 is a Core 2 Extreme
    2) The 24" is a very good panel, so I don't think you should have any issues.
    3) People like to exaggerate, and I don't think there is a graphics issue at all. However it's not to say there isn't, but I haven't have issues, and none of my friends have either.

3. Babba thread starter macrumors member

thanx a lot for your clear answer alphaod. Do you think i should choose a macbook pro 2.5 over imac 2.8? I mostly do some graphic design..i don't play any games and all..and the rest is surfing, listening music....

4. xpipe macrumors regular

You can see the specs for the iMacs here: http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/

According to that, it's a Core 2 Duo.