Few questions about iMac ( please check )

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Babba, Aug 10, 2008.

  1. Babba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    Hello all, lets go directly to my questions :p

    1) I'm moving my house in 2 weeks. So i was thinking of buying a new computer but no PC. So i decided to go for an iMac. Mac pro's are way expensive for me.( in my country, apple products are twice expensive than us )
    So i decided to buy an imac 2.8.
    Is Imac 2.8 using core 2 duo extreme cpu? it doesnt say extreme on my local apple store's website not the guy in apple store know anyhthing about it..
    I asked if it's extreme or not and he said no its core 2 duo...:)
    does all imac 2.8 has extreme cpu ?

    2) I read forums about imac and some people say that imac's has some screen problems...i'm a graphics designer/3d modeller so screen might be important for me...

    3) Would you prefer to buy a macbook pro 2.5 instead of imac 2.8? ( does macbook pro's has some internal problems also..the things with the gpu?)
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    1) Yes the 2.8 is a Core 2 Extreme
    2) The 24" is a very good panel, so I don't think you should have any issues.
    3) People like to exaggerate, and I don't think there is a graphics issue at all. However it's not to say there isn't, but I haven't have issues, and none of my friends have either.
     
  3. Babba thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    thanx a lot for your clear answer alphaod. Do you think i should choose a macbook pro 2.5 over imac 2.8? I mostly do some graphic design..i don't play any games and all..and the rest is surfing, listening music....
     
  4. xpipe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #4
    You can see the specs for the iMacs here: http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/


    According to that, it's a Core 2 Duo.

    I haven't had any problems with my screen. I love it. But I guess some other people have. Same with the thing about the laptop. That's the bad part about computer forums; all you hear about is problems, and you become totally paranoid about everything! I know I am :D


    I wouldn't want any laptop over my iMac, no way. At least not for home use.
     
  5. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #5
    Hi Babba, to answer your questions:

    1) The previous 24" iMac had the option for a 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme. The current 24" iMac has a 2.8GHz Core 2 Duo processor. The older 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme had 4MB of L2 Cache and a 800MHz FSB & the new 2.8GHz Core 2 Duo has 6MB of L2 Cache and a 1066MHz FSB.

    2) The display used in the iMac (20" or 24") is a high-quality display. I am typing this post on a previous generation 20" 2.4GHz iMac and the display is gorgeous.

    3) I would go for the MacBook Pro over the iMac only if you need/want the portability of a notebook computer. Otherwise, I would go for the iMac.
     
  6. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    I a very sure this is not true
     
  7. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    I am 100% sure he is right. His specs are spot-on.

    To the TS: I'd recommend going for the iMac over the MBP, but if you're really into portability, then get a MBP.
     
  8. passingXstorm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #8
    I'm also 100% sure this is true. All the current iMAcs use Core 2 Duo processors.
     
  9. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    sorry my bad i just thought they continued useing them. In never saw an announcement that i changed but w/e. Glad mine has it :p
     
  10. iWantiPhone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10
    im pretty sure that the 2.8 is a extreme. look up X7900.
     
  11. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    'Extreme' doesn't mean anything though!

    It's just unlocked for easier overclocking, and you won't want to be doing that without extra cooling anyway.
     
  12. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #12
    u cant over clock an iMac and actually i believe that extreme refers to the the fact that Intel over clocked it originally
     

Share This Page