Few Questions - Macbook and Mac OS X related...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by egk69, Jun 5, 2009.

1. egk69 macrumors 6502

Hi im new to this whole Mac thing, so i have a lot of questions, im going to write a few in here...

Macbook Q's
    1- Does the battery really last 5 Hours!?
    ---mine doesnt seems to last that much, i havent tested but looking at the battery icon and the time it displays it doesnt seems like it is going to last 5hours ...

2- On the Battery icon the reading of time left varies a lot, sometimes it sais 3:30 then 1 minute after it sais 2:10, then it goes up again, is this normal!?

BTW:If it matters I Own a Macbook 2.4 - 4GB RAM - 320 HDD 7200rpm

Mac OS X Q's
    3- On the Dock there are a few folders like "documents" and "Downloads" that when you click if you select view as "GRID" , is there any way to make the icons smaller in the grid view???

4- Is there a way to put a separator on the DOCK!?
    The DOCK haves 1 separator, but i want to know if i can put another one, and how!?

5- Any good Tutorial, Tips, web page you know about Mac OS X!?

Most of those questions are maybe stupid, but understand that this is my 1st MAC ever. I know i have more questions, but cant remember what else to ask right now hehehehe...

THANKS
    Carlos

2. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

Two I can immediately help you with...

In terms of battery time, it will vary enormously depending on what you're doing. If you're just typing up a document with no other apps open, for example, the battery will last longer than if you're using intensive apps, like a game say. Stuff like AirPort and Bluetooth will drain it quicker, too. Obviously, like any other retailer Apple advertises the best case scenario.