Few questions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Hellhammer, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    How can I get my Windows Live ID work in Mail and iChat?
     
  2. nebarik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #2
    in short; its complicated

    for ichat im not sure if it can be done at all. but if it can i think it was buggy. dont really remember, i just know i dont use it. go download msn for mac
    http://www.microsoft.com/Mac/products/messenger/default.mspx

    or a 3rd party like adium

    as for mail. might wanna google some tutorials and use this program called 'freepops'

    its all not entirely worth the effort though. kinda neat though
     
  3. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #3
    Live chat in iChat is not easily done, or completely functional. Download the app posted above, or adium. If you like your video chat, aMsn might work but it is very buggy.

    As for live mail in Mail, YOUR IN LUCK! I heard that microsoft just announced that you can get pop3 livemail (finally)...
    http://mailcall.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!CC9301187A51FE33!49799.entry
     
  4. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Thanks man, I really appreciate it. Works perfectly now
     
  5. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    I don't want to start a new thread so I post it here. How can I install Safari 4 beta so that it doesn't overwrite the Safari 3? On PC I knew how to do it but I'm new to Mac world so little help is appreciate. It's still in beta stage so I don't want to use it as a main browser, but I'd like to get it too. I mean that I'd like to have both, 3 and 4, separately.
     
  6. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Downtown Los Angeles
    #6
    I don't think it's possible. Safari 4 does come with an uninstall, though.

    Safari 4 is screaming fast. As a longtime Firefox user, I actually switched over.
     
  7. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #7
    Trust me, you won't even notice safari 3 is gone.
     

Share This Page