Few software questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by adamvk, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. adamvk macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    Where does front row play music from? Is it synced with itunes or something?

    Also is antivirus software really needed for mac?

    Also what does X11 do?



    Thanks for help in advance
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    no
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Front Row plays music from iTunes.

    No, search using MRoogle in my sig if you want more details.

    X11 allows you to run apps that weren't designed specifically for OS X, like some UNIX apps.
     
  4. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #4
    I disagree. Antivirus software is always a good idea. Even though Mac is virus resistant, it's a good idea not to pass on viruses to windows users unknowingly. It is also possible, however unlikely to get a Mac virus.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    AV -- no, not really. If you have Windows installed, you should probably run Windows AV on the Windows partition or image, but that's about it.

    X11 -- it's a different windowing environment (the thing that makes windows and buttons and all that kind of stuff) for Unix systems. Mostly on OS X it's used for a few ported Unix/Linux apps that don't have OS X / Aqua front ends (Aqua is the usual windows manager). These apps are slowly coming over to Aqua -- Gimp and OpenOffice just got native Aqua versions. But there are still others that don't have them. Don't worry about it till you get an app that needs it. But FFS don't delete it from your apps folder because you don't know what it is (you'd be surprised how many new users do stuff like that).
     
  6. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Ok thanks for responses..I was under the impression X11 could run windows apps in windows on the mac desktop, dont know why....Is there an app that does that though?

    That MRoogle is nice, I like it.
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Perhaps you are thinking of Parallels?
    http://www.parallels.com/

    or maybe vmware fusion?
    http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Parallels or Fusion, but you need a copy of Windows.

    Crossover works without Windows, but the applications it can run are limited.
     
  9. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    I know about Parallels, Fusion, Etc. Im talking about an app that lets you run a windows program in a window on the mac desktop without having to run virtualization software. It sounds too good to exist, but I was just wondering if it did exist. Or does Fusion/Parallels do that?
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Crossover is what you are looking for.
     
  11. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    ^Thanks for Link.

    I also just watched a quick video on Parallels 4.0, and coherence also allows me to do what I was talking about.
     
  12. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #12
    ^ CrossOver has limited usage so beware. Games and heavy graphic intensive apps run very slow.
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Coherence still requires that you purchase XP or Vista, and they be running in the background through Parallels.
     
  14. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #14
    Well I have a Vista Ultimate license/XP Home license, so its not a problem :)
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    In that case, Parallels Coherence or VMWare Fusion are much better options than Crossover Office....
     
  16. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #16
    ^Thanks. Ill add Parallels to my list of software to buy.
     

Share This Page