file size of HD video recorded on iphone???

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jdl8422, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    Any see anywhere what the average file size for a HD video recorded on the iphone is? 720p at 5minutes = What file size?
     
  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
  3. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #3
    We can't be sure about this. We don't know 'how' the new iPhone saves the data, though I'd certainly go for a 32 GB model. A better camera, HD recording and of course the display with a higher resolution (so high-res movies) will take some more space.
     
  4. MDMac macrumors regular

    MDMac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
  5. agjake01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #5
    Can't say for the iPhone 4, but my 8GB Flip Ultra HD records in 720p for exactly two hours. Thus (1) minute = 66.66MB (approximately)

    FWIW
     
  6. jdl8422 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #6
    Id be happy with that on the iPhone. I just kept reading about the HD recording and iMovie but no where did anyone mention the file sizes.
     
  7. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #7
    Well, and there's always a 'back-up' plan. If you are running out of space just send your video to yourself via the email app. From there you can just open it.
     
  8. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    My guess is that it'll be close to 2 GB per hour, or put another way, about 35MB per minute.

    That's about half what the Flip is getting acording to the post above, so this may be a low guess. But I think it'll be less than the Flip. Somewhere between my guess and the Flip, then, is likely.
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    If you have wifi.
     
  10. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #10
    Yea, or over 3G (but than again - I've got an unlimited plan and since ATT changed their policy a lot of people don't..)
     
  11. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #11
    You can't E-Mail, MMS, Upload a video to YouTube/Mobile Me if the file size is over 20mb over AT&T 3G's network. it doesn't matter if you have an Unlimited Data plan or a 200mb plan, over 3G, 20mb is the cap for upload/download.

    Also, your Unlimited Data plan still has a cap of 5gb.
     
  12. jashsayani macrumors regular

    jashsayani

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #13
    I would say around 2.5GB/hour. But I am sure Apple has optimized the size for the iPhone as its a mobile device.
     
  13. dizzy13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #14
    I think it will be at least 2x that.
     
  14. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #15
    Wrong. This has been beaten to death. Nowhere does it state this for the iphone plan. Please stop perpetuating BS as fact, thanks. :)
     
  15. dizzy13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #16
    I've heard 5GB as well, many places and from many people. Even if this number isn't right, I hope you don't think it's really unlimited.
     
  16. Bettermann09 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #17
    I agree and disagree with the 5GB cap controversy. I was getting charged extra for data while using my phone at one point. I brought my phone in to AT&T to find out why this was happening. After all, my data plan is "unlimited". He told me that the old plan was capped at 5GB, but there is a new one with no cap (probably still a cap, but higher). He switched me over and I haven't had a problem since. So I guess the argument could go either way.
     

Share This Page