File Transfers from G4 to iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rabsparks, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. rabsparks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    I have an old G4 which I finally upgraded to a new iMac. The G4 has both ethernet as well as USB and Firewire. I have a crossover cat5e cable as well as an ethernet cat5e cable.

    Which should I use?

    I also have Carbon Copy. Would you use that over Migration Assistant or not?

    Thanks.
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I would use Migration Assistant, however I would only do my personal files. All applications etc I would download newer versions.
     
  3. Deville macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #3
    I just did this with my G4 tower to a new imac, I just used time machine over my network, it took along time time but worked fine.
     
  4. rabsparks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    Cable?

    And what cable did you use to do the transfer????
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    I would try an Ethernet cable.
     
  6. Deville macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #6
    Just use a wireless router. Use an ethernet cable to the router on the G4 and the wireless on the imac, good to go.

    EDIT: I meant to say I used Migration assistant over the network, not time machine.
     

Share This Page